Weather Forecast


Lake Regional Electric holds annual meeting, three directors reelected

Lake Region Electric Cooperative held its annual meeting on June 6 in Fergus Falls. About 400 members and friends attended.

Three incumbent directors were reelected by acclamation: Ken Hendrickx from District 3, Joyce Valley from District 6 and Robert Shaw from District 9.

LREC board chair Charles Kvare presented the meeting’s theme of “Innovation and Technology,” and CEO Tim Thompson talked about how innovation and technology are being used to keep rates stable, improve service reliability and maintain financial strength.

Thompson also announced the launch of a new solar energy service offering to its members – LREC Community Solar. The co-op will be providing information about how members can purchase panels in the Community Solar project in its newsletter and at a Solar Expo to be scheduled for this summer.

Mark Glaess, General Manager of the Minnesota Rural Electric Association, delivered the keynote address, and the Heart O’ Lakes Harmony singing group “Note-ified Quartet” provided entertainment prior to the business meeting.

The LREC Board of Directors held an organizational meeting following the annual meeting.

Board officers remain: Charles Kvare, chair; Denny Tollefson, vice-chair; Robert Shaw, treasurer; Joyce Valley, secretary. Ken Hendrickx is LREC’s Great River Energy representative.

LREC is a member-owned, member-controlled electric utility serving more than 26,000 members in Otter Tail and Wilkin counties and portions of surrounding counties.