Weather Forecast


Parties to hold Precinct Caucuses

Email Sign up for Breaking News Alerts
News Perham, 56573
Perham Focus
(218) 346-5901 customer support
Perham Minnesota 222 2nd Avenue SE 56573


The Republican Party of Otter Tail County will be hosting its Precinct Caucuses on Tuesday, Feb. 7 at 7 p.m. at various locations across the county. A Presidential Straw Poll will be taken and the delegates and alternates to the County Convention will be chosen. Any resolutions to the party platform may also be presented.


The caucuses will be held at the following locations:

-Pelican Rapids: Pelican Rapids Senior Citizen Center

-Fergus Falls: Kennedy Middle School Cafeteria

-Parkers Prairie: Parkers Prairie High School

-Perham: Perham High School Commons Library

-New York Mills: New York Mills High School Library

-Battle Lake: Battle Lake School Cafeteria

-Henning: Henning Community Center


The Minnesota Democratic-Farmer-Labor Party in Otter Tail County will hold Precinct Caucuses on Tuesday, Feb. 7 at 7 p.m. Registration will begin at 6:30 p.m.           

The Caucuses will be held at seven sites throughout the county:

-Pelican Rapids: Pelican Rapids Public Library, 25 Mill Avenue. Hosting the following precincts: Candor, Dora, Dunn, Erhard, Erhards Grove, Lida, Maplewood, Norwegian Grove, Pelican Twp., Pelican Rapids City, Rothsay City, Scambler, Star Lake, Trondhjem and Vergas City.

-Fergus Falls: Fergus Falls Kennedy Secondary, 601 Randolph Avenue. Hosting the following precincts: City precincts 1-1, 1-2, 2-1, 2-2, 3-1, 3-2, 4-1 and 4-2, Aastad, Aurdal, Buse, Carlisle, Dalton, Dane Prairie, Elizabeth City, Elizabeth Twp., Fergus Falls Twp., Friberg, Orwell, Oscar, Tumuli and Western.

-Parkers Prairie: Parkers Prairie High School Music Room, 411 South Otter Avenue. Hosting the following precincts: Eastern, Effington, Elmo, Leaf Mountain, Parkers Prairie City, Parkers Prairie Twp., Urbank and Woodside.

-Henning: Henning High School, 500 School Avenue. Hosting the following precincts: Folden, Girard, Henning City, Henning Twp., Inman, Leaf Lake, and Oak Valley.

-Perham: Perham Middle School, 480 Coney Street. Hosting the following precincts: Corliss, Dead Lake, Dent, Edna, Gorman, Hobart, Ottertail City, Ottertail Twp., Perham City, Perham Twp., Pine Lake, Richville and Rush Lake.

-Battle Lake: Battle Lake Area Community Center, 112 W. Main Street. Hosting the following precincts: Amor, Battle Lake. Clitherall City, Clitherall Twp., Eagle Lake, Everts, Maine, Nidaros, St Olaf, Sverdrup, Tordenskjold, Underwood and Vining.

-New York Mills: New York Mills County Government Office, 118 North Main. Hosting the following precincts: Blowers, Bluffton City, Bluffton Twp., Butler, Compton, Deer Creek City, Deer Creek Twp., Homestead, Newton, New York Mills, Otto, Paddock and Wadena Precinct 4.

Caucuses set the framework for the grassroots organization of the Democratic Party. Precinct chairs and

associate chairs are elected. Resolutions are written, and delegates who will represent each precinct at the

county and district conventions are elected.

Contact Michal T. Windey, Otter Tail County DFL Board Co-chair, for more information, at 218-367-2402.