Weather Forecast


DNR adds more Minnesota counties to burning restriction list

The Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) is adding more

counties to the list of those designated for burning restrictions.

Beginning April 20, restrictions will go into effect in the following

13 counties: Aitkin, Becker, Beltrami, Carlton, Cass, Clearwater, Crow

Wing, Hubbard, Itasca, Mahnomen, Ottertail, Polk (that portion south and

east of County Road 6 from the Manhomen County line to MN Hwy 92 east to

the Clearwater County line), St Louis (that portion south of county road

16), and all of Wadena county.

Burning restrictions were previously announced for Benton, Douglas,

Grant, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Pope, Stearns, Stevens, and

Todd counties and will take effect on April 16.

Restrictions are currently in effect for Anoka, Chisago, Isanti,

Sherburne, Washington and Wright counties.

These restrictions are put in place each spring to reduce the

occurrence of wildfires, which can damage homes and other personal


Due to snowmelt, warming weather, and dry vegetation, much of Minnesota

is at increased risk of wildfires. The risk will remain high until green

vegetation emerges. Until that time, no burning will be allowed in the

affected counties unless a special permit is obtained from a local

forestry office.

Special permits will only be written for extenuating circumstances such

as time sensitive construction projects and prescribed burning conducted

by professional firefighters. The DNR encourages the use of composting,

recycling, and chipping as alternatives to burning.

While debris burning will be curtailed, the use of campfires, if

smaller than 3 feet in diameter and 3 feet in height, will continue to

be allowed. Permits are not required for this type of fire if it meets

the above conditions and is monitored until coals have cooled.