Weather Forecast


Otter Tail County GOP selects new leadership at convention

The Otter Tail County GOP convened at Thumper Pond in Ottertail on Saturday to select new leaders for the party's executive committee.

More than 120 delegates, alternates, and guests attended. Will Blasczyk of Dunn Township was elected to be presiding chair of the convention.

Reports were heard from District 8 Senator Bill Ingebrigtsen, District 8A Representative Bud Nornes and 8B Representative Mary Franson on matters and legislation before the State Legislature.

Seventh Congressional District chairman Craig Bishop gave an update on projects and activities in the district. Convention attendees also heard reminiscences from former Senator Gretchen Hoffman.

The convention elected new county officers and delegates to the State Central Committee. Replacing the retiring Chair, Brent Frazier of Pelican Rapids, is Sue Nelson of Perham; Jim Eitzen of Clitherall was re-elected deputy chair, and Bill Schulz of Fergus Falls was elected party secretary.

Karen Waller of Pelican Rapids was re-elected vice chair for District 8A Representative, and Patty Peterman of New York Mills was elected to be Vice Chair of District 8B Representative.

Among the region leaders elected were Mike Van Horn, Dennis Poppenhagen, Betty Staebler, and John Waller.

All offices have terms of two years.

Delegates to the State Central GOP committee elected were Will Blasczyk, Sue Nelson, and Jim Eitzen. Alternate delegates are Thomas and Karen Prischmann, Brent Frazier, Arles Kempula, Mary Hauser and Betty Staebler.

The convention closed with a tribute to Chair Brent Frazier for his many years of service in the Republican party.