Weather Forecast


Minnesota DNR lifts burn bans in 32 counties

Prompted by recent rains, the Department of Natural Resources on Tuesday lifted burning restrictions in all or parts of 32 Minnesota counties, including Becker, Hubbard, Otter Tail, Todd and Wadena.

The DNR also lifted burning restrictions in Aitkin, Anoka, Benton, Carlton, Cass, Chisago, Crow Wing, Dakota, Douglas, Isanti, Itasca, Hennepin, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Pine, Pope, Ramsey, Sherburne, Stearns, Washington and Wright and southern St. Louis counties.

Restrictions remain in effect for Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Pennington, Roseau and north Beltrami counties in northwest Minnesota, along with Cook, Koochiching, Lake and north St. Louis counties farther east. Those restrictions will be lifted soon, the DNR said.

Despite the relaxed burning regulations, local areas, counties or municipalities may have specific regulations or restrictions that affect burning operations, the DNR said. Check with local authorities to obtain proper permits before burning.

Forum News Service

The Forum Communications News Service is the premier news wire service covering the Upper Midwest, including the Dakotas, Minnesota and Wisconsin. In addition to breaking and enterprise news, we offer a wide variety of sports, features, business, agriculture, outdoors and opinion content. For more information about the services we offer or to discuss content subscriptions, please contact us.