Weather Forecast


Perham Health trustee earns state certification

Perham Health trustee Katherine Hemmelgarn is one of 10 hospital trustees in the state recently recognized for earning certification through the Minnesota Hospital Association's trustee certification program.

The comprehensive certification process prepares hospital trustees to effectively meet the growing demands of serving on a hospital board and to be strong health care and community leaders.

By participating in MHA's voluntary certification program, hospital trustees receive training on current health care trends; governance best practices; ethics; government regulations; patient safety; and quality. Participants undergo 35 hours of coursework, making Minnesota's initiative the most comprehensive in the nation.

"In Minnesota, more and more hospital trustees are formally preparing themselves to address the often complicated issues facing hospitals and health systems today," said Lawrence Massa, MHA president and CEO, in a press release. "Our trustee certification program proactively ensures that hospital leaders are well-prepared to make good decisions.

"With so many changes in health care policy and practice - especially under federal and state health care reform - hospital trustees want this kind of support to be strong leaders in their organizations," he added. "And earning this certification demonstrates a trustee's commitment to the patients and communities the hospital serves."

Along with Hemmelgarn, the newly certified trustees are:

-Robert Cooper, District One Hospital, Faribault

-James Fuhrmann, Avera Marshall

-Kim Halvorson, District One Hospital, Faribault

-Lana E. Hansen, Lakewood Health System, Staples

-James Hofer, Lakewood Health System, Staples

-Wayne Hubin, Ridgeview Medical Center, Waconia

-Robert Jensen, FirstLight Health System, Mora

-Don Potter, Cook Hospital and C&NC

-Eric E. Weiberg, Rice Memorial Hospital, Willmar