Weather Forecast


Perham teacher, Darren Glynn, elected secretary-treasurer on statewide education board

Prairie Wind Middle School teacher, Darren Glynn, was recently elected to serve a one-year term as an officer on the board of the Minnesota Rural Education Association.

The association is a statewide organization that advocates for students and school districts in Greater Minnesota.

Glynn, elected to serve as secretary-treasurer, is one of two Perham representatives on the board. Perham-Dent Superintendent Mitch Anderson also serves.

Five new members joined the 20-member board this year, according to a press release from the association. Representing categories within membership zones throughout Minnesota, directors are either elected by the membership or appointed.

The new board members include: Mark Adams, superintendent of Greenway and Nashwauk-Keewatin School Districts; Doug Deragisch, with Southwest-West Central Service Cooperative; Mark Frank, a teacher in the Menahga School District; Eric Frederickson, Windom School Board member; and Patty Stangl, Pierz School Board member.

Prior members Mike Hamilton, of Plainview-Elgin-Millville, and Monica Stueck, of Montevideo, have both been elected to another term.

Officers elected by the board for one-year terms include Glynn and: Mike Vasek, board president; Christopher Mills, president-elect; and Scott Vedbraaten, past-president.

Luther Heller, Montevideo, will serve with the officers on the association’s executive committee.

Other directors continuing to serve include Perham’s Anderson and: Kelly Berg, Fisher; Rhonda Bonnstetter, Slayton; Lee Carlson, St. James; Marvin Kleven, Walnut Grove; Jeremy Kovash, Fergus Falls; Todd Meyer, Jackson; and Roger Rudebusch, Lake Benton.

“I look forward to working with our new board members,” said Mike Vasek, the association’s board president. “Their background and interest in education will be a huge benefit to students throughout rural Minnesota.”

The Minnesota Rural Education Association has 178 school district members and speaks on behalf of 160,000 students, advocating for equitable school finance and investments in education, enhanced teacher quality and availability, improved transition from secondary to post-secondary and career, and a balance of local control and state accountability.