Weather Forecast


Students inducted into math honor society

Twelve students at Minnesota State Community and Technical College, Fergus Falls have been inducted into Mu Alpha Theta, the national mathematics honor society for high school and two-year college students.

Recognized during the April 26 induction ceremony were Garyt Haagenson-Buck and Emma Holo of Dalton; Amber Hovland, Brittany Nygaard, Melissa Rosentreter, Shawna Stoman and Elizabeth Wanek of Fergus Falls; Nancy Iverson of Parkers Prairie; Emily Lindberg of Ottertail; Sara Norris of Sauk Centre; Jodee Oelke of Barrett; and Dale Yungbauer of Bertha.

The mission of Mu Alpha Theta is to recognize outstanding work in mathematics and encourage student interest in mathematics. To qualify, students must have a 3.00 GPA overall and in math courses at the level of college algebra and above.

M State-Fergus Falls Provost Anna Wasescha was the guest speaker at the ceremony. Advisors to the group are M State mathematics instructors Sharon Hintgen and Tanya Hanstad.

As a member of the Minnesota State College and Universities System, M State serves more than 6,500 students in credit courses each term through more than 120 career and liberal arts programs at its four campuses in Detroit Lakes, Fergus Falls, Moorhead and Wadena, and online. By partnering with communities, the college also provides custom training services and other responsive training programs.