Weather Forecast


Local candidates meet filing deadline for fall elections

Candidates in the cities of Perham and New York Mills and in the Perham-Dent and New York Mills School districts met the August 17 deadline for filing papers to be listed on the November 2 local elections ballot.

In Perham, current mayor Timothy Meehl is the only candidate to file for running for the post which has a two-year term.

In the race for the two seats on the Perham city council with four-year terms, incumbents Harriet Mattfield and Fred Lehmkuhl at the only two candidates to file.

Eric Spencer was the only candidate to file nomination papers to run for the two-year term seat on the Perham council.

In New York Mills, incumbent Mayor Larry Hodgson was the only candidate to file for the office.

There will be two seats on the New York Mills City Council that have four-year terms that will be on the November ballot. Incumbent William Warner filed for re-election. He will be joined on the ballot by Marsha Maki and Kenny Friese.

Candidates also filed their candidacy papers for election to the New York Mills and Perham-Dent school districts.

Running for three seats on the New York Mills School Board are incumbents Rachel Grieger and Charles Jacobson and non-incumbent Jill Marie Carlson.

Incumbents Dr. Mike Hamann, Jim Rieber and David Schornack are running for four seats on the Perham-Dent School Board along with non-incumbents Sue Huebsch and Myron Roe.

Both school districts will also have local levy referendum questions on the November ballot.