Weather Forecast


4-H award winners announced

New 4-H officers and ambassadors are Jodi Holtti, Heather Weller, Jenna White, Caleb Monson and Mikayla Brauch. Submitted photo

East Otter Tail County area youth and adults were recognized for their service and achievements at this year’s annual 4-H Recognition Awards Program, held in October at the New York Mills Extension Office.  

Dr. Bill Rose of Lakeland Veterinary Clinic and Norman and Bernice Jahnke were all 2013 Recipients of the Friend of 4-H award, given to community members who have shown dedication and diligence to the 4-H program. Without the support of partners like Rose and the Jahnkes, the youth in East Otter Tail County 4-H would not have all the opportunities they currently do to be shaped into positive leaders and citizens. 

Likewise, the family is essential to positive youth development, and adults and youth learning together is what sets 4-H apart from other youth organizations. The 4-H Family of Year Award was given to the John and Audrey Blashack Family.

The 2013 Outstanding Adult Leader was Sheldon Monson.  

The 2013 Outstanding Project Leader was Teresa Hagerty, the horse project leader and club leader of the EOT Wranglers 4-H club.

The 2013 Outstanding Youth Leader, Sr. Division, was awarded to Ellen Dauphinais, member of the County Bumpkins 4-H Club, and the daughter of Peggy and Jim Dauphinais. The Jr. Division Youth Leader was Heather Weller, member of the Countryside Corners 4-H Club and the daughter of Kristi and Dean Weller. 

The 2013 Amazing 4-H Ambassador also went to Heather Weller.

The 2013 Outstanding 4-H Officers award went to Kayla Jahnke and Jodi Holtti for their outstanding job as Federation Treasurers.  Jahnke is a member of the Heinola Hustlers 4-H Club and Holtti is a Leader for the EOT Shooting Sports.

The 4-H Key Award also went to Kayla Jahnke, daughter of Colette and Eugene Jahnke.

Leader Awards were given out to first year junior and adult leaders: five, 15, 20 and 40 year leaders. 

Junior leader first year certificates were given to:  Summer Dobratz, Madison Olson, Grace Ruckheim and Jonathon Schwartz, Country Bumpkins; Mara Leslie, Dent Helping Hands; and Brady Larson and Dusty Lehmann, Rock A Boosters.

Adult leader certificates went to: Kris Hendrickx, Butler 4-H; and Angie Larson, Dent Helping Hands

An award for five years of adult leadership went to: Denise and Rick Loerzel, Rock A Boosters.

Awards for 10 years of adult leadership went to: Casey and Teresa Hagerty, EOT Wranglers; Vicki Jacobson, Heinola Hustlers; and Dianne and Steven Schwartz, Country Bumpkins.

An award for 15 years of adult leadership went to: Sandi Carrlson, Mills Magic.

An award for 30 years of adult leadership went to: Daren Bauck, Heinola Hustlers.

And an award for 35 years of adult leadership went to: Rowland Bauck, Heinola Hustlers.

Record awards were given in three age categories by club. Winners were:

Butler 4-H: 3rd–5th graders, Isaac Hendrickx and Anna Meech; 6th grade and above, Benjamin Hendrickx, Paul Hendrickx, Peter Hendrickx, Sam Hendrickx, and Ted Hendrickx.

Country Bumpkins: Cloverbuds, Mason Arens; 3rd-5th graders, Micah Arens and Jacob Ruckheim; 6th grade and above, Matthew Arens, Megan Arens,  Summer Dobratz, Madison Olson, Grace and Hanna Ruckheim, Jonathon and Veronica Schwartz, and Elizabeth and Katherine Wippler.

Countryside Corners 4-H: Cloverbuds, Kyra Haman and Kylie Jacobson; 3rd–5th graders, Bailey Jacobson; 6th grade and above, Austin Haman, Carter Haman, Kyndall Haman, Abby and Emma Sweere, Heather Weller and Annika Werner.

Dent Helping Hands: Cloverbuds, Cassy Berry, Joey Borth, Calvin Johnson, Katelyn Kratzke and Madelyn Larson; 3rd–5th graders, Seth Johnson; 6th grade and above, Mary Riestenberg, Alex Stoll, and Hailey and Jenna Wegscheid.

Independent 4-H: 6th grade and above, Megan Badinger.

Mills Magic: Cloverbuds, Aiden Greene; 3rd–5th graders, Jane Gudmundson; 6th grade and above, Kelsi Anderson, Madison Greene and Megan Dow.

Rock-A-Boosters: 3rd–5th graders, Elayna Kawlewski, Britney Loerzel and Shelby Meyer; 6th grade and above, Nathan Kawlewski, Brady Larson, Dustin Lehmann, Lindsey and Shawna Loerzel, and Samantha Meyer.

Woodside Workers: Cloverbuds, Nathan Blashack; 3rd-5th graders, Chris and Isaac Blashack.

Other special recognition given included: 

Purple Ribbon Clubs:    Buttler 4-H, Country Bumpkins, Countryside Corners, Dent Helping Hands and Rock-A-Boosters. Blue Ribbon Clubs: Heinola Hustlers and Mills Magic.

The Club of the Year Award went to the Country Bumpkins, of the Parkers Prairie area.