Weather Forecast


Filing period closed for local elections

A range of candidates will be vying for open seats in Perham and New York Mills in the general election Nov. 6.

The filing period for municipal and school board elections ended last Tuesday, and candidates had until the end of the day last Thursday to withdraw their names. 

The general election will be held Tuesday, Nov. 6. For more in-depth information on each candidate, watch for our Voter's Guide, scheduled for publication in November.

In Perham, Tim Meehl, the current Perham mayor, will be rerunning, as will incumbent city councilors James Johnson and Eric Spencer. No others filed.

The school board, on the other hand, will have five newcomers on the ballot, along with all three incumbents. They will be contending for three open seats on the Perham-Dent School Board. Incumbents Cyndy Huber, Arnie Thompson and Sue Von Ruden have all filed for reelection. They are being challenged by David Reitmeyer, Eric Ashcraft, Vincent Pankonin, James Mulcahy and Clint Fultz.

In New York Mills, two newcomers will be facing off for the position of mayor. Kenny Friese and Julie Gerber have both filed; current mayor Larry Hodgson is not seeking reelection. Six candidates have filed for two open seats on the city council: Matthew Olson, Jason Schik, Patrick Kilby, Betsy Roder, Charles Fredley and Joshua Hoaby. All are newcomers.

On the NY Mills school board, five people have filed for four open seats. None of the incumbents filed, leaving the door open for newcomers Julie Adams, Wendy Hetland, Kristina Ehnert, Chris Waltz and Amy Wallgren.