Weather Forecast


Miltich and Sieling win DFL Dist. 8 endorsements

The 2014 Minnesota DFL Senate District 8 Endorsing Convention was held May 21 at the Alexandria Technical and Community College.

In addition to voting delegates, many community members were present as witnesses and supporters.

For House District 8A, Jim Miltich of Pelican Rapids was nominated and unanimously endorsed on the first ballot. Manley Nichols and Mike Windey gave supporting speeches. Miltich spoke on the importance of civic involvement for community building and emphasized that effective representation is essential for a thriving rural Minnesota.

For District 8B, Jay Sieling of Alexandria was unanimously endorsed on the first ballot. Will Sieling and Anne Clark gave supporting speeches. Jay Sieling spoke on the foundational nature of rural Minnesota values, their influence on Minnesotans’ lives, and their role in effective policymaking.

DFL Senate District 8 also held officer elections at the convention. District officers are: Chair, Beth Jansen, Alexandria; Vice-Chair, Steve Rufer, Fergus Falls; Secretary, LaRon Adkins, Battle Lake; and Treasure, Ken Dahl, Battle Lake.

For more information, call 218-864-0923.