Weather Forecast


Perham boys basketball ends season with awards banquet

The Perham boys basketball team wrapped up another successful season by holding an awards banquet April 13 at The Cactus in Perham. The varsity team, which was Section 8 Champion, Heart O'Lakes Conference Champions and placed third in the state, honored their teammates with the following awards:

Senior Jordan Bruhn received the Jacket award, along with being named Mr. Defense. Most Improved went to Jordan Anderson, Extra Effort to Mike Wiskow and Teammate of the Year went to Josh Nordick. Seniors Jordan Cresap and Mark Schumacher shared two awards, the Coach's Award and the Sportsmanship Award. All conference honors went to Cresap, Bruhn, Anderson and Schumacher, while Wiskow was an all conference honorable mention. Bruhn was the named Co-Conference MVP with Luke Halbakken of Pelican Rapids. Cresap was named to the state all-academic team, while the entire Yellowjackets team was named Minnesota Academic Team Champions.

The junior varsity team was undefeated on the season and also received awards during the evening. The Jacket award went to Jake Anderson; Most Improved, Nick Bahls; Mr. Defense, Eli Beachy; Extra Effort Award, Austin Erickson; Teammate of the Year Award, Kyle Sonnenberg; Sportsmanship Award, Jaden Meyer. Hunter Salathe and Tyler Glines shared the Coach's Award.

The Freshman team awards were as follows: Jacket Award, Sam Muer and Eric Herrmann; Coach's Award, Sam Muer; Most Improved, Andrew Johnson; Mr. Defense, Christian Weis; Hustle Award, Nic Winkels; and Teammate of the Year, Billy Beseman.

The basketball program also awarded Travis and Kati Kratzke as Fans of the Year.