Weather Forecast


Burning bans in effect

Statewide fire conditions have led the Minnesota Department of Natural Resources (DNR) to place burning restrictions in the following counties: Aitkin, Anoka, Becker, Beltrami, Benton, Carlton, Chisago, Clearwater, Crow Wing, Dakota, Douglas, Hennepin, Hubbard, Isanti, Itasca, Kanabec, Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Mahnomen, Marshall, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Otter Tail, Pine, Pennington, Roseau, Ramsey, Sherburne, Pope, Stearns, Todd, Wadena, Washington and Wright and parts of Cass, Polk and St. Louis counties.

The DNR urges extreme caution when burning. Never leave the fire unattended, have a water source available, and make sure the fire is completely out before leaving. This spring a small debris fire got away from a homeowner and destroyed the person’s home. Last year, a woman burning debris died from injuries sustained when she tried to contain an escaped fire. Anyone conducting an open fire is responsible for suppression costs when the fire escapes control.

The DNR encourages composting, recycling, and chipping as alternatives to burning.

While debris burning will be curtailed, campfires smaller than 3 feet in diameter and 3 feet in height are allowed.

Forum News Service

The Forum Communications News Service is the premier news wire service covering the Upper Midwest, including the Dakotas, Minnesota and Wisconsin. In addition to breaking and enterprise news, we offer a wide variety of sports, features, business, agriculture, outdoors and opinion content. For more information about the services we offer or to discuss content subscriptions, please contact us.