Weather Forecast


Miller wins Average Jo Triathlon for second straight year

Jason Groth/FOCUS Ryan Wipper raises two fingers for the camera as he finished second in the 12th annual Average Joe Traithlon.

Athletes young and old converged on Paul Miller Park for the 12th annual Average Jo Triathlon on Saturday, June 27.

The first person across the finish line was a familiar face to the Average Jo Triathlon. Baxter’s Casey Miller won the triathlon for the second consecutive year.

Miller finished the 500 yard swim, 12 mile bike and three-mile run in a time of 1:01:19. It bested his time from last year. Miller finished the 2014 race with a time of 1 hour, 1 minute and 19 seconds. 

Rice’s Ryan Wippler came in second place, just 1.12 behind the leader. Wippler finished with a time of 1:02.31.

Kierann Toth, Colorado Springs, Colo., was the top female finisher. Toth came in with a time of 1:10:24. Minneapolis’ Margaret Nigg finished in second place with a time of 1:12:58.

The average time for the triathlon was 1:29:27 for the field of 98 in this year’s race.

The top local finisher was Frazee’s Mark Shipman. He finished the race with a time of 1:18:26. Perham’s Jerry Huebsch came in with a time of 1:27:05.

The top local female finisher was Vergas’ Jenny Zetocha. She finished with a time of 1:24:01. Vergas’ Kim Doyle ended with a time of 1:34:24.


Average Jo Triathlon

June 27




1. Casey Miller, Baxter,                1:01:19

2. Ryan Wippler, Rice,                  1:02:31

3. Tyler Zima, Fargo, N.D.,           1:03:43.

4. Branden Scheel, Fargo, N.D.,   1:07:04

5. Jeremy Brekke, Fargo, N.D.,    1:07:45

6. Bryan Walls, Grand Forks, N.D.,             1:08:18

7. Jesse Shaw, St. Cloud,               1:09:23

8. Ryan Rogers, Bemidji,             1:09:39

9. Mitch Wellman, Fergus Falls, 1:09:46

10. Cory Nygaard, South St. Paul,              1:09:55


Average Jo Triathlon

June 27




1. Kierann Toth, Colorado Springs, Colo.,                1:10:24

2. Margaret Nigg, Minneapolis,  1:12:58

3. Hannah Pierskala, Pittsurgh, Pa.,            1:16.55.

4. Kari Callahan, Fargo, N.D.,      1:20:55

5. Jennifer Olson, Rice,                 1:21:00

6. Kiersten Cooley, Moorhead,   1:21:06

7. Abby Astrup, Fargo, N.D.,        1:22:56

8. Jenny Zetocha, Fargo, N.D.,     1:23:19

9. Patty Jaeger, Vergas, 1:24:01

10. Beth Astrup, Fargo, N.D.,       1:24:37

Jason Groth

 Groth is a Minnesota Newspaper Association award-winning Sports Editor of the Perham Focus and the Wadena Pioneer Journal. Groth worked in Grand Rapids as the Sports Director at KOZY/KMFY radio for two years and prior to that he was the Sports Editor/Writer for the Grand Rapids Herald-Review for seven years. 

(218) 346-5900 x223