Weather Forecast


Babe Ruth State Tournament: Dent 'In-Tact' team looking to recapture magic in Cold Spring for another State title

Front row (l to r): Ryan Satter, Ty Haverland, Hunter Nodsle, Chase Collins. Middle row: Gabe Pankonin, Jack Stigman, Dylan Ellingson, Marty Charest. Back row: Coach John Collins, Chris Ruther (draftee from Perham), Ivan Nodsle, Jesse Hein, Eric Brauch, Jordan Hein, Josh Nordick (draftee from Perham), Coach Dan Nodsle. Not pictured: Jake Anderson.

The Dent 13-15 year old Babe Ruth baseball team has qualified for the 'In-Tact' State Tournament, which will be held in Cold Spring beginning today (Aug. 6). The team, coached by Dan Nodsle and John Collins, swept through their District Tournament competition this past weekend in Bemidji.

Dent opened the tournament with an impressive 12-2 win over Bemidji on Thursday. Ivan Nodsle was the winning pitcher, striking out eight and allowing six hits in five innings on the mound. Jesse Hein (4-for-4, 2B, 3R), Gabe Pankonin (2-for-4, 2B, 3B, 2R) and Jordan Hein (2-for-4, 2-2B, 2R) led the offensive attack for Dent.

In Friday's action, Chris Ruther, a draftee from Perham, tossed a five-inning no-hitter as Dent posted a 10-0 win over Cass Lake. Ruther struck out four in the contest. Offensive leaders were Jesse Hein (2-for-3, R), Jordan Hein (2-for-3, 3B, R) and Ty Haverland (1-for-4, R).

The second game of the day on Friday was against Baxter, with Dent prevailing 5-3. Eric Brauch got the win, scattering eight hits and striking out eight batters. Haverland (2-for-4, 2B, 2R), Jesse Hein (1-for-4, 2B) and Nodsle (1-for-4) led the way at the plate.

Dent met Baxter again on Saturday for the District championship and won handily, 16-8. Nodsle got the win in relief of Dylan Ellingson. Pankonin highlighted the offensive effort with a grand slam home run and a double in five at bats, scoring four times and driving in five runs. Jordan Hein (2-for-5, 2B, 4R) and Jesse Hein (2-for-5, 2B) also contributed.

The Dent Babe Ruth team won the State In-Tact Championship in 2004, the last time the tournament was held in Cold Spring.

Dent will receive a first round by today in Cold Spring. They get into the action at 2:30 p.m. against the winner between Pearl Lake and Hawley.

If Dent wins that game, they will play in the quarterfinals on Friday at 2:30 p.m. If they lose their first round game, Dent will play in the consolation bracket on Friday at 10 a.m. against either Breckenridge or Dassel.