Weather Forecast


Perham native Nate Toedter to be inducted into the St. Cloud State Hall of Fame

Perham High School graduate Nate Toedter will be one of eight former athletes and coaches that will be honored at the St. Cloud State Athletic Hall of Fame in an induction ceremony on Saturday, Oct. 24.

Toedter was a two-time North Central Conference champion at 190-pounds in 1988 and 1989, and he gained NCAA Division II All-America honors three times during his collegiate wrestling career at St. Cloud State.

As a testimony to his prowess on the mat, Toedter was invited to the NCAA Division I championships in 1989 and earned All-America honors with an eighth place finish at the DI tournament that season.

A transfer from the University of Minnesota Duluth, Toedter charted a 30-10 record for the Huskies in 1986-87, and then followed with a 33-4 record in 1987-88 on the way to his first conference title. To cap his senior season, Toedter posted a 37-6 record that included another NCC title along with a third place finish at the NCAA Division II championships.

Toedter served as a team captain for the Huskies in 1987-88 and 1988-89, and he also earned the Dean Weisman Award as the team's Wrestler of the Year in 1987, 1988 and 1989. In 1990, Toedter was a member of the Athletes in Action International Wrestling Team.

While at Perham, Toedter was a two-time state place winner in 1983 (5th place) and 1984 (3rd place). He also earned Academic All-State notice as a prep wrestler in 1983 and 1984.

A resident of Burnsville, Toedter is currently employeed as a foreman by Northern Pipeline. He and his wife Jodi Ann have three children (Dakota, Isabella and Sierra).

With this class, the Athletic Hall of Fame will increase to 163 individual members and three teams. The inductions take place every two years.

In addition to Toedter, this year's Hall of Fame includes former coaches Diane Heydt (men's and women's swimming and diving) and Larry Sundby (men's and women's tennis). Sundby played and coached men's tennis for the Huskies and was the long time women's tennis coach. The former athletes include Sheri Mandell Carlson (volleyball), Brenda Meyer Corrow (basketball), Dustin DeRosier (track and field), Michelle Nelson LeBow (cross country/track and field), and Jeff Saterdalen (hockey).

For more information on the Athletic Hall of Fame contact the St. Cloud State Athletics office at 320-308-3102.