Weather Forecast


NYM Boys Basketball: 2009-10 Season Preview

Front Row (l-r): Sam Slieter, Steven Kasma, Erik Tumberg, Derik Gaudette, Tanner Wegscheid, Frank Peeters, Cody ClarkseanBack Row: Spencer Imsande, Adam Snelgrove, Tristan Huwe, Isaiah Bauck, Bryce Pazdernik, Josh Pesola, Frank Peeters,

Head Coach:

Bryan Dunrud (5th Season, 58-46 overall).

Assistant Coaches: Jason Boe (JV), Mike Peeters (C-Team)

2008-09 Season: The Eagles were 10-16 overall last season, 6-6 in the Park Region Conference, good for 4th place. Bertha-Hewitt won their 4th straight PRC title, sharing the crown with Sebeka with 11-1 records. B-H was 25-2 overall, Sebeka was 24-3.

2009 Sections:

New York Mills was the No. 10 seed in the 6A North Sub-Section. They beat No. 7 Rothsay in the first round, 64-58, but lost to No. 2 Norman County East in the sub-section quarterfinals, 79-44. The North's No. 3 seed, Ada-Borup, won the Section 6A title, beating the South's No. 1 team, Clinton-Graceville-Beardsley, 72-60. Ada-Borup went on to finish in 3rd place at the Class A State Tournament.

2009-10 Seniors: Steven Kasma (1st year player).

Get to Know'em: Tanner Wegscheid (Jr.), Isaiah Bauck (Jr.), Erik Tumberg (Jr.), Tristan Huwe (Jr.), 2008-09 Big D Award), Frank Peeters (Jr.), Spencer Imsande (Jr.), Adam Snelgrove (Soph.),


The Eagles will be an athletic, up tempo style basketball team that gets after it on both ends of the floor. They are young and lack some experience, but they have a lot of potential.

Season Outlook: Sebeka looks like the strongest contender to take the PRC title this year. After being part of 4-straight titles, you can never count out Bertha-Hewitt. Norman County East, Ada-Borup, Park Christian and Lake Park-Audubon will all be teams to watch in Section 6A.

Coaches Quote: "The success of this team will depend on their work ethic and willingness to accept their roles. What we lack in size and experience we hope to make up for with our team speed and athleticism."

Bryan Dunrud