Weather Forecast


Cross country state tournament information

Class A Boys Highlights

The Bulldogs of Plainview-Elgin-Millville return to defend their 2009 title. They have five runners with previous state meet experience. Nine other teams also return from last year's field: Waseca, Fairmont, Minnehaha Academy of Minneapolis, Holy Family Catholic of Victoria, St. Cloud Cathedral, Mora, Albany, Esko, and Perham.

The other teams qualified this year are La Crescent, Redwood Valley of Redwood Falls, Canby/Minneota/Lincoln HI, Sauk Centre, Crosby-Ironton, and Thief River Falls.

The final rankings from the state coaches association for the qualified teams are: 1. Perham; 2. St. Cloud Cathedral; 3. Plainview-Elgin-Millville; 4. Minnehaha Academy; 6. Waseca; 7. Holy Family Catholic; 8. Fairmont; 9. Mora; and 12. Esko.

Seven Top 10 finishers, including defending champion, junior Mubarik Musa of Worthington, return from the 2009 field. The others are: senior Aaron Haley of Plainview-Elgin-Millville, fourth; senior Mason Ferlic of Mounds Park Academy of St. Paul, fifth; senior OJ Ojullu of Worthington, sixth; senior Grant Wintheiser of St. Cloud Cathedral, eighth; junior Troy Koivisto of Dassel-Cokato, ninth; and Grant Timm of Plainview-Elgin-Millville, 10th.

Musa and Ferlic were ranked No. 1 and No. 2, respectively, in the final coaches poll. Haley followed at No. 6, Timm was No. 8, Wintheiser was No. 10, and Ojullu was No. 12.

Class A Girls Highlights

Twelve of last year's 16 teams are back. The Waseca Bluejays, who are the defending champions, return with five runners back from their 2009 team. Other teams that are returning are La Crescent, Fairmont, Adrian, Holy Family Catholic of Victoria, The Blake School of Minneapolis, St. Cloud Cathedral, Annandale, Albany, Esko, Perham, and Park Rapids Area. The other qualified teams are Dover-Eyota/St. Charles, Canby/Minneota/Lincoln HI, Sauk Centre, and Crosby-Ironton.

The final rankings from the state coaches association for the qualified teams are: 1. Adrian; 2. St. Cloud Cathedral; 3. La Crescent; 4. Holy Family Catholic; 5. The Blake School; 6. Dover-Eyota/St. Charles; 7. Waseca; 9. Albany; 10. Perham; and 11. Esko.

Kayla Woltz, a sophomore at Chatfield, is the highest returning qualifier. She's earned runner-up honors for the past two years. Three additional Top 10 finishers also return: ninth-grader Clare Flanagan of The Blake School, third; ninth-grader Courtney Alama of Annandale, fifth; and sophomore Elena Danielson of St. Cloud Cathedral, seventh. Danielson was No. 1 in the final rankings from the state coaches association and Flanagan was No. 8.

The Schedule

The Class A boys' race will start at 10 a.m., followed by the Class A girls' race at 11 a.m. The Class AA boys' race will start at 1 p.m., followed by the Class AA girls' race at 2 p.m. A combined awards ceremony will take place approximately 30 minutes after the conclusion of the girls' race in each class.

State Meet Parking

School teams, meet officials, media, and vehicles displaying handicapped passes will be allowed to park on the St. Olaf campus near the race course at Skoglund Athletic Center.

Spectator parking is available at four remote parking lots at the southeast end of St. Olaf campus. Large red signs will direct spectators to these lots. Shuttle service to and from campus will be provided from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. The pickup and drop off points will be posted with large red "Bus Stop" signs.

To find St. Olaf College, take I-35 to the Highway 19/Northfield exit and drive east to the campus. Follow the signs toward the Skoglund Athletic Center. Display your news media confirmation notice to gain access to nearby parking. The media room is located in Conference Room 112 in Skoglund.

Meet results will be posted on the Minnesota State High School League's Web site. The League's Web site address is