Weather Forecast


Eagle wrestlers win big

The Eagle wrestlers were less than gracious hosts in thumping Pelican Rapids and Parkers Prairie in a home triangular.

New York Mills defeated Pelican Rapids, 63-15, and Parkers Prairie, 60-3.

Nine wins by fall and an injury default highlighted the victory over Pelican Rapids.

Jeremiah Harper, Tommy Selander, Shane Novak, Maison Roberts, Kyle Vorderbruggen, Seth Hofland, Ty Bell, Noah Pesola and Max Carlson all won by fall. Peter Stark got the victory by injury default over Pelican's Hector Lemus.

Roberts' pin was scored in only 26 seconds. Vorderbruggen was swift, as well, pinning Gustave Dimateo in 33 seconds.

Parkers Prairie was forced to forfeit at four weights: 112, 119, 140, 145.

Harper won by fall in 35 seconds over Tom Leeseberg at 103 pounds to get the Eagles started. Tyler Ehnert won a 5-1 decision over Mitch Westerberg and a major decision, 10-2, from Taylor Ericksrud over Bryce Looker locked up the victory early.

Vorderbruggen was 2-0 druing the triangular after a 11-4 decision over Ryan Bosek.

Stark scored a technical fall at 2:28 over Dylan McCallson.

Bell made it two pins on the day winning by fall over Michael Kalpin at 2:32.

Kevin Hahn, of Parkers Prairie, kept the goose egg off the board with a close 2-1 victory over Tyler Patron at 189 pounds. Pesola and Carlson cleaned up at the heavyweights to ice the blowout.

The victories improve the Eagles record to 5-1 in duals this season.

That record will be tested early in January, as the Eagles' next test will be stiff, at Frazee, Tuesday, Jan. 4.

The Hornets have had only one close dual, a 31-24 victory over Kimball Area. In a comparison match, the Hornets defeated Pelican Rapids 79-0.

Frazee is ranked second in the Class A wrestling poll behind Jackson County Central.

The Hornets have seven wrestlers ranked in state polls. Shane Novak remains the only Eagle ranked.

December 21, 2010

New York Mills Triangular

New York Mills 60 Parkers Prairie 3

103 Jeremiah Harper (NYM) Fall Tom Leeseberg (PP) :35

125 Tyler Ehnert (NYM) Dec. Mitch Westerberg (PP) 5-1

130 Taylor Ericksrud (NYM) Maj. Dec. Bryce Looker (PP) 10-2

135 Kyle Vorderbruggen (NYM) Dec. O'Ryan Bosek (PP) 11-4

152 Peter Stark (NYM) Tech. Fall Dylan McCallson (PP) 2:18

160 Seth Hofland (NYM) Fall A. J. VanSanten (PP) :25

171 Ty Bell (NYM) Fall Michael Kalpin (PP) 2:32

189 Kevin Hahn (PP) Dec. Tyler Patron (NYM) 2-1

215 Noah Pesola (NYM) Dec. Cambell Rasmusson (PP) 5-2

285 Max Carlson (NYM) Fall Stephan Brunson (PP) 1:28

New York Mills 63 Pelican Rapids 15

103 Jeremiah Harper (NYM) WBF over Dakota Pixley (PR) 1:27

112 Tommy Selander (NYM) WBF over Dan Franco (PR) 1:10

119 Shane Novak (NYM) WBF over Carlos Guiterrez (PR) 1:49

125 Jesus Romero (PR) won by dec over Tyler Ehnert (NYM) 3-0

130 Maison Roberts (NYM) WBF over Josh Klovstad (PR) 0:26

135 Kyle Vorderbrugen (NYM) WBF over Gustavo Dimateo (PR) 0:33

140 Jim Cossette (PR) WBF Andrew Mindermann (NYM) 0:50

145 Michael Meyer (NYM) won by dec over Cris Bakken (PR) 4-2

152 Peter Stark (NYM) won by injury default over Hector Lemus (PR)

160 Seth Hofland (NYM) WBF over Jed Evenson (PR) 5:49

171 Ty Bell (NYM)WBF over Felix Barragen (PR)5:30

189 Noah Pesola (NYM) WBF over Ben Barragen (PR) 3:08

215 Max Carlson (NYM) WBF over Muhammed Carbo (PR) 3:08

285 Connor Holt (PR) won by forfeit.