Weather Forecast


Wolverines' comeback ousts Eagles from sections

1 / 2
2 / 2

Prior to New York Mills' semifinal section 6A wrestling match with Wadena-Deer Creek, Head Coach Eric Niemi stated the Eagles needed to come out and get off to a good start.

They did, jumping out to a 15-0 lead thanks to pins from Andrew Perala and Shane Novak. Tommy Selander started off the match with a 11-4 decision.

The two teams met up in early February, with the Wolverines coming out on top, 36-30.

"It's the second time around; we know what's coming," Niemi said.

What showed up was a maelstrom of falls in the final three matches.

The Eagles held the lead until the match was all square at 18 after the 145-pound match between Peter Stark and Jacob Wegscheid. Wegscheid nipped Stark by a point, 4-3, to bring WDC even.

Seth Hofland would win by fall at 152 pounds over Jacob Ludouissie.

Derrick Rude took out Ty Bell, of NY Mills, in the next match 7-1.

With a 24-21 advantage, Noah Pesola cushioned the Eagle lead defeating Isaac Malone by fall at 42 seconds. NY Mills led 30-21 with three matches to go.

That's when the trio of Isaac Lustile, Tony Revriak and Dylan Anderson did a number on the three NY Mills heavies, scoring falls in all three matches to come from behind with 18 late points to seal the victory 39-30.

The Wolverines went on to be defeated in the finals by a heavily favored Border West squad, 42-21.

In the opening round of sections, NY Mills walloped West Central Area, 52-21.

Falls in the first three matches by Selander, Perala and Novak, compounded by a major decision victory by Taylor Ericksrud and a Kyle Vorderbruggen pin built a 28-0 cushion early.

Bell and Tyler Patron would also score pins in the blowout.

Eagle wrestlers move on to the individual qualifying section meet in Barrett, at West Central Area high school, Friday and Saturday, Feb. 25-26.

New York Mills 52 West Central Area/Ashby 21

103 Tommy Selander (NYM) fall Jake Larkin 1:31

112 Andrew Perala (NYM) fall Chase Odegaard 3:34

119 Shane Novak (NYM) fall Gage Odegaard 1:28

125 Taylor Ericksrud (NYM) md Carter Dunkan 15-5

130 Kyle Vorderbruggen (NYM) fall Devin Buss :39

135 Seth Albert (WCA) fall Andrew Mindermann 1:46

140 Michael Meyer (NYM) fall Braeden Long 1:46

145 Kyle Martineau (WCA) dec Peter Stark 7-4

152 Seth Hofland (NYM) won by forfeit

160 Ty Bell (NYM) fall TJ Waskosky :18

171 Jon Pikop (WCA) dec Noah Pesola 11-6

189 Tyler Patron (NYM) fall Anthony Miller :45

215 Ethan Supler (WCA) dec Max Carlson 3-1

285 Jon Sande (WCA) fall Taylor Moss 2:34

Wadena-Deer Creek 39, New York Mills 30

103: Tommy Selander (NYM) defeated Sam Waln (WDC) 11-4

112: Andrew Perala (NYM) defeated Devin Barthel (WDC) Fall 3:29

119: Shane Novak (NYM) defeated Tristen Godel (WDC) Fall :28

125: Taylor Ericksrud (NYM) defeated by Josh Lawson (WDC) Fall 4:07

130: Tyler Ehnert (NYM) defeated Zach Berna (WDC) 4-0

135: Kyle Vorderbruggen (NYM) defeated by Jordan Rentz (WDC) 4: 01

140: Michael Meyer (NYM) defeated by Jared Wegsheid (WDC) 6-3

145: Peter Stark (NYM) defeated by Jacob Wegsheid (WDC) 4-3

152: Seth Hofland (NYM) defeated Jacob Ludouissie (WDC) Fall 3:02

160: Ty Bell (NYM) defeated by Derrick Rude (WDC) 7-1

171: Noah Pesola (NYM) defeated Isaac Malone (WDC) Fall :42

189: Tyler Patron (NYM) defeated by Isaac Lustile (WDC) Fall 4:07

215: Taylor Moss (NYM) defeated by Tony Revriak (WDC) Fall 1:09

285: Max Carlson (NYM) defeated by Dylan Anderson (WDC) 2: 47

Robert Williams

Sports Editor at the Detroit Lakes Tribune. Williams worked prior as the Sports Editor in Perham for the Focus, a Forum Communications newspaper, from 2010-14. 

(218) 844-1442