Weather Forecast


In the name of cycling

Race winners Steve Wentz (left) and Angie Johnson (right) pose with family members of the late Cal Miller during the 16th annual Cal Miller Bike Race Sunday at Zorbaz. The 36-mile race drew roughly 50 cyclists from around the region. Photo by Trisha Marczak

Cyclists from around the region woke up early Sunday for a road race aimed at preserving the memory of late Perham bike enthusiast Cal Miller.

Around 50 riders lined up for the trek, which took them on three 12-mile loops around Little Pine Lake. The 36-mile race took off and wrapped up at Zorbaz.

Miller is remembered as a man with a passion to bike. He died at the age of 46 after an unexpected brain aneurysm.

Competitors squared off at the beginning, quickly breaking into a few distinct packs. In the end, Steve Wentz walked away with the overall title. Wentz, of West Fargo, N.D., broke a Cal Miller record, winning with a time of 1:24:24. Angie Johnson walked away with the overall female champion title for the second year in a row. She also broke a record, finishing with 1:26. Last year, Johnson finished with a time of 1:38:33.

Friends and relatives of the late Cal Miller also showed up for the race, taking part in organization efforts and cheering along racers. Pat Puetz, who was married to Cal Miller, has been responsible for the organization of the event since it began 16 years ago.

"It's a labor of love," Puetz said after a round of applause following the race.

Awards were also given to the first place winners in each age division. Jake's Bikes of Alexandria was on hand to help with bike repairs. The company also provided raffle prizes.

Cal Miller Memorial Bike Race Statistics

August 21, 2011

48 Racers

Overall Champion:

Steve Wentz Age 33 - West Fargo, ND 1:24:24

Overall Female Champion:

Angie Johnson Age 29

Alexandria, MINN. 1:26:00

Age Division Winners

Male 14-19

Noah Middlestaedt - St. Cloud

Alec Carlson - Fargo

Jordan Thielen - Detroit Lakes

Male - 20-29

Brian Sprague - Horace, N.D.

Jorge Odio Jr. - Alexandria

Aaron Lael - Fargo

Male - 30-39

1. Aaron Johnson - Princeton

2. Todd Hale - Wadena

3. John Hanson - Fargo

Male - 40-49

1. John Morgan - Mandan, N.D.

2. John Goeddertz - Boise, Idaho

3. Kyle Lindstrom - Houlton, Wis.

Male - 50-59

David Manzey - Fargo

George Odio - Alexandria

Kent Carlson - Fargo

Male - 60-69

Gerald Peterson - Perham/Woodbury

David Moody - Wilmar

Terry Olson - Wadena

Male -70+

1. Paul Kylander - Mora

Female - 20-29

1. Trisha Marczak - Perham.

Female - 30-39

1. Laura Nyhus - Spring Park

Female - 40-49

Linda Cooper - Fargo

Diane Rusness - Fargo

Janet Lindstrom - Houlton, Wis.

Female - 50-59

Kate McClure - Apple Valley

Kim Burd - Fargo

Top 10 Finishers

1. Steve Wentz, 33 West Fargo

2. John Morgan, 47, Mandan, N.D.

3. John Goeddertz, 41, Boise, Idaho

4. Brian Sprague, 23, Horace, N.D.

5. David Manzey, 51, Fargo

6. Jorge Odio Jr., 29,Alexandria

7. Angie Johnson, 29, Alexandria (First female)

8. Aaron Lael, 27, Fargo

9. Eric Swenson, 25, Alexandria

10. Linda Cooper, 48, Fargo