Weather Forecast


Bison men, women track and field teams set for NCAA preliminary round

Courtesy: NDSU Athletic Media Relations

FARGO - The North Dakota State women's track and field team will send six athletes and the Bison men five to the NCAA West Preliminary Round in Austin, Texas, beginning today and running through Saturday.

For the women, sophomore Antoinette Goodman qualified in the long jump and 200-meter run. Freshman Paige Stratioti will run the 400 while senior Brittany Schanandore and freshman Ashlynn Simon qualified in the 800. Sophomore Maddie McClellan and senior Amy Jo Thorne will compete in the 3,000 steeplechase.

NDSU also qualified its 1,600-meter relay team.

For the men, junior Matt Tetzlaff will run the 110 hurdles, junior Moses Heppner the 800 and senior Travis Fitzke the 1,500.

Junior Casey Orgon qualified in the hammer throw and senior Jeramy Geditz in the high jump.

The top 12 in each event will advance to the NCAA Championships in Des Moines, Iowa, from June 6-9.