Weather Forecast


Wrestling: Perham seventh at Les Kertscher Duals

FRAZEE -- The No. 12-AA Perham Yellowjackets defeated No. 12-A Kimball Area 40-36 to take seventh place in a battle of ranked teams at the Les Kertscher Duals Saturday.

No. 6-A Frazee took the title with a 44-24 victory over No. 3-AA Foley.

No. 5-A Lake Crystal-Wellcome defeated No. 8-A Minneota 34-21 for third place.

The defending North Dakota Class B champions from Lisbon defeated Brainerd/Pillager 36-33 for a fifth place finish.

Perham's Luke Sailer, No. 9 at 138 pounds and Cody Nylander, No. 3 at 220, were both undefeated on the day.

Sailer wrestled up at 152 to defeat Minneota's Justin VanKeulen at 1:01. Sailer pinned Brainerd/Pillager's Dillon Solid at 2:45, again at 152. Sailer's third win by fall came at 145 pounds over Tanner Schreifels, of Kimball Area at 3:40.

Nylander recorded two wins by fall in his usual 220-pound class.

He pinned Minneota's Luis Macis in the first period at 1:49.

Against Kimball Area, Nylander took out Devon Kelley at 2:39.

Nylander's pin of Kelley nullified the heavyweight match as sophomore anchor Jesse Bucholz took the mat with seventh place sealed as Perham led 40-30 in the 40-36 final.

Perham suffered a loss in the quarterfinals to No. 8-A Minneota.

Sam Pirrotta (113), Sailer (152), Brady Sazama (160), Patrick Glynn (170), Gio Garcia (190) and Nylander (220) all scored victories.

In the consolation semis, Brainerd/Pillager edged the Jackets 41-30.

Perham got victories from: Chase Curtis (120), Tyler Fudge (126), Josh Werner (138), Colin Neitzke (145), Sailer (152), and Bucholz at 285.

Les Kertscher Duals

Team Results:


Foley 24 Frazee 44

Third Place

Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial Area 34, Minneota 21

Fifth Place

Lisbon 36, Brainerd/Pillager 33

Seventh Place

Perham 40, Kimball Area 36


Frazee 40, Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial Area 20 Foley 40, Minneota 24


Frazee 47, Kimball Area 20

Lake Crystal-Wellcome Memorial Area 51, Lisbon 15 Minneota 45, Perham 21

Foley 37, Brainerd/Pillager 30

Consolations Semifinals Lisbon 43, Kimball Area 30 Brainerd/Pillager 41, Perham 30

Perham Results:


Minneota 45 Perham 21

106 Brock Buysse (MIN) Fall Gage Paurus (PER) :44

113 Sam Pirrota (PER) Fall Kyle Hennen (MIN) 5:43

120 Landyn VanOverbeke (MIN) Tech. Fall Chase Curtis (PER) 5:52

126 Leo Buysse (MIN) Dec. Tyler Fudge (PER) 6-4

132 Bryce Bruner (MIN) Fall Josh Werner (PER) 1:15

138 Alec Engler (MIN) Maj. Dec. Josh Werner (PER) 12-4

145 Grant Abraham (MIN) Fall Colin Neitzke (PER) 2:48

152 Luke Sailer (PER) Fall Justin VanKeulen (MIN) 1:01

160 Brady Sazama (PER) Dec. Cole Hennen (MIN) 4-2

170 Patrick Glynn (PER) Dec. Nathan Bueltel (MIN) 4-3

182 Isaac Josephson (MIN) Dec. William Parks (PER) 10-3

195 Gio Garcia (PER) Dec. Willy Flood (MIN) 5-1

220 Cody Nylander (PER) Fall Luis Macis (MIN) 1:49

285 Doug VanKeulen (MIN) Fall Jesse Bucholz (PER) 1:20

Consolation Semifinals:

Brainerd/Pillager 41 Perham 30

106 Bryton Mutz (BRD) Fall Gage Paurus (PER) :40

113 Andy Schlosser (BRD) Fall Sam Pirrotta (PER) 1:24

120 Chase Curtis (PER) Fall Drew Bruen (BRD) 1:19

126 Tyler Fudge (PER) Won by Forfeit

132 Jake Zelinske (BRD) Fall Josh Germolus (PER) 3:25

138 Josh Werner (PER) Dec. Dan Babineau (BRD) 8-6

145 Colin Neitzke (PER) Fall Tommy Schlosser (BRD) 2:30

152 Luke Sailer (PER) Fall Dillon Solid (BRD) 2:45

160 Luke Boran (BRD) Maj. Dec. Brady Sazama (PER) 9-1

170 Jeff Flickenger (BRD) Maj. Dec. Patrick Glynn (PER) 11-3

182 Jace Engelmann (BRD) Dec. William Parks (PER) 5-2

195 Levi Rubin (BRD) Fall Geo Garcia (PER) 2:58

220 Sam Adams (BRD) Fall Jesse Klatt (PER) 2:58

285 Jesse Bucholz (PER) Dec. James Wiess (BRD) 5-0

Seventh Place:

Perham 40 Kimball Area 36

106 Payton Schiefelbein (KIM) Fall Gage Paurus (PER) 1:16

113 Blane Tschida (KIM) Fall Sam Pirrotta (PER) 3:15

120 Chase Curtis (PER) Fall Payton Hanan (KIM) :50

126 Quinten Berres (KIM) Fall Tyler Fudge (PER) 1:15

132 Josh Germolus (PER) Fall Brady Mehr (KIM) 1:30

138 Marcus Hamer (KIM) Dec. Josh Werner (PER) 8-2

145 Luke Sailer (PER) Fall Tanner Schreifels (KI) 3:40

152 Brady Sazama (PER) Dec. Skyler Schiefelbein (KIM) 8-4

160 Patrick Glynn (PER) Won by Forfeit

170 William Parks (PER) Fall Brandon Koch (KIM) 1:01

182 Travis Wills (KIM) Dec. Gio Garcia (PER) 7-2

195 Austyn Schlueter (KIM) Fall Jesse Klatt (PER) :32

220 Cody Nylander (PER) Fall Devon Kelley (KIM) 2:39

285 Ted Zipoy (KIM) Fall Jesse Bucholz (PER) 4:19

Robert Williams

Sports Editor at the Detroit Lakes Tribune. Williams worked prior as the Sports Editor in Perham for the Focus, a Forum Communications newspaper, from 2010-14. 

(218) 844-1442