Weather Forecast


Eagles remain undefeated, sweep home triangular

PERHAM -- The New York Mills wrestling team swept two matches at their home triangular over Pelican Rapids 48-27 and Prairie Valley 49-6 to remain undefeated (7-0) this season in duals.

Of the 28 matches in the two victories there were 12 forfeits.

The Eagles dominated the remaining 16 bouts to win easily over both teams.

The Eagles trailed 9-0 after two matches against the Vikings and 18-12 after six before New York Mills stuck it to the Vikings, literally.

Pins by Taylor Ericksrud (145), Kacee Skoog (152), Gunner Flynn (160), Noah Pesola (182), and Tyler Patron (220) put a close match well out of reach.

The Eagles match with Prairie Valley was over after Shane Novak took a forfeit at 120 and Austin Haman followed it up with a major decision (9-1) over Dylan Winkler to put up the Eagles' ninth point in a match where they only allowed six to their opponents.

Cole Grabow had the only pin at 195 pounds sticking Quentin Uran at 24 seconds. Eight of the 14 matches were forfeits, including three double forfeits.

New York Mills Triangular vs. Pelican Rapids, Prairie Valley. Thursday, Dec. 20.

New York Mills 48, Pelican Rapids 27

106 Jason Meyer (PR) WBForfeit

113 Danny Franco(PR) WBD over Taylor Thompson (NYM) 4-0

120 Shane Novak (NYM) WBF over Dakota Pixley (PR) 1:30

126 Carlos Gutierrez (PR) WBD over Austin Haman (NYM) 3-1

132 Tyler Ehnert (NYM) WBForfeit

138 Robert Mazariegos (PR) WBF over Madison Frederichs (NYM) 4:41

145 Taylor Ericksrud (NYM) WBF over Ray Elizondo (PR) 4:44

152 Kacee Skoog (NYM) WBF over Alex Diaz (PR) 2:15

160 Gunner Flynn (NYM) WBF over Josh Klovstad (PR)1:08

170 Hobet Diaz(PR) WBD over Sam Erckenbrack (NYM) 2-1 OT

182 Noah Pesola (NYM) WBF over Ben Barragan (PR) 2:30

195 Cole Grabow (NYM WBForfeit

220 Tyler Patron (NYM) WBF over Muhamed Carbo (PR)1:15

285 Eddie Ramos (PR) WBForfeit

New York Mills 49. Prairie Valley 6

106 Double Forfeit

113 Double Forfeit

120 Shane Novak (NYM) Won by Forfeit

126 Austin Haman (NYM) Maj. Dec. Dylan Winkler (PV) 9-1

132 Tyler Ehnert (NYM) Dec. Mitch Westerberg (PV) 4-1

138 Andrew Parala (NYM) Fall Bryce Looker (PV) 1:28

145 Taylor Ericksrud (NYM) Won by Forfeit

152 Kacee Skoog (NYM) Won by Forfeit

160 Brian Pyle (NYM) Dec. Dylan Borchert (PV) 2-0

170 Sam Erckenbrack (NYM) Dec. Josh McKeown (PV) 10-6

182 Noah Pesola (NYM) Won by Forfeit

195 Cole Grabow (NYM) Fall Quentin Uran (PV) :24

220 Double Forfeit

285 Logan Nibber (PV) Won by Forfeit

Robert Williams

Sports Editor at the Detroit Lakes Tribune. Williams worked prior as the Sports Editor in Perham for the Focus, a Forum Communications newspaper, from 2010-14. 

(218) 844-1442