Weather Forecast


Moorhead Spuds take Barrel O' Fun Invite wrestling title

William Parks was one of two individual champions for Perham Saturday. Parks won the 170-pound title. Photo by Robert Williams/FOCUS1 / 3
Max Carlson won the heavyweight title giving New York Mills three champions, along with Shane Novak (120) and Kacee Skoog (152). Photo by Robert Williams/FOCUS2 / 3
Josh Werner was Perham's other champion. He defeated Moorhead's Kenny Mark 5-3 in the 132-pound finals. Photo by Robert Williams/FOCUS3 / 3

PERHAM -- The Moorhead Spuds' seven finishes in the top two spots aided in defeating New London-Spicer and Perham in the 36th Barrel O' Fun Invitational wrestling tournament Saturday.

The Spuds totaled 209.5 to 182 points for both the Wildcats and Yellowjackets.

United North Central finished fourth with 176.5 points. New York Mills was fifth with 154.

Perham had two individual champions: senior Josh Werner at 132 pounds and sophomore William Parks at 170.

Werner won all three of his matches improving to 16-4 on the season.

He defeated Mille Lacs' Luke Thompson by tech fall at 4:35 to open his bracket. Werner took out Wildcat Treyton Austvold 10-6 in the semifinals and outlasted Kenny Mark of Moorhead 5-3 in the finals.

Parks received a first round bye and needed only two victories to seal the 170-pound title.

He pinned UNC's Dylan Huttunen in the semis at 3:20 and won a 7-1 decision in the finals over Moorhead's Sam Grove.

Cody Nylander suffered his first loss of the season in the finals at 220 pounds.

Nylander defeated Brandon Knisley of NLS in a one-minute pin to advance to the finals.

Taylor Carlson of UNC won the title with a 7-3 decision.

The victory in the semis did give Nylander his 88th career victory at Perham, which ties him with recent graduate Brandon Lueders for 35th all-time.

Including Nylander, Perham had five runners-up finishes.

Sam Pirrotta was 3-1 on the day at 113 pounds. His only loss was to champion Jakob Stageberg of NLS by tech fall.

Chase Curtis was 2-1 improving to 18-3 on the season at 120 pounds. Curtis lost to No.1-A ranked Shane Novak of New York Mills.

Novak improved to 17-2 with three straight victories for the 120 title. Novak won all three of his matches by fall. He pinned Kade LaCoe of UNC in 38 seconds, NLS' Thomas Stageberg at 5:00 and Curtis at 1:29.

Luke Sailer (15-4) won his first two matches and just missed the 138 championship dropping a 3-2 decision to Max Pajari of United North Central.

Patrick Glynn was the fifth runner-up for Perham. Glynn defeated Gunner Flynn of New York Mills by decision 15-13 to advance to the finals against Joe Carpenter of Moorhead.

Carpenter defeated Patrick Glynn 16-0 in the final.

Novak was the first of three individual champions for New York Mills.

Kacee Skoog improved to 14-5 sweeping all three of his matches by decisions. Skoog took out UNC's Mike Johnson 10-8 in the final at 152 pounds.

Heavyweight Max Carlson continues a strong season improving his record to 13-4. He defeated Kieren Oksanen of Roseau 4-3 in the 285-pound final.

36th Barrel O' Fun Invitational

Team Results:

1. Moorhead 209.5

T2. Perham 182

T2. New London-Spicer 182

4. United North Central 176.5

5. New York Mills 154

6. Detroit Lakes 112

7. Roseau 81.5

8. Walker-Hackensack-Akeley/Nevis 54

9. Mille Lacs 33

Individual Champions plus local finishes:

106-- 1. Grant Brendemuhl (MHD) def. Jacob Travis (NLS), 13-5.

6. Gage Paurus (PER).

113-- 1. Jakob Stageberg (NLS) def. Sam Pirrotta (PER), TF, 21-6 (5:44).

120-- 1. Shane Novak (NYM) def. Chase Curtis (PER), fall 1:29.

126-- 1. Jacob Malone (UNC) def. Oden Rogers (NLS), 4-2;

4. Jacob Guehna (PER).

132-- 1. Josh Werner (PER) def. Kenny Mark (MHD), 5-3.

4. Tyler Ehnert (NYM)

138-- 1. Max Pajari (UNC) def. Luke Sailer (PER) 3-2.

6. Andrew Perala (NYM)

145-- 1. Parker Jackson (DL) def. Joseph Grove (MHD), fall 3:03.

4. Taylor Ericksrud (NYM) 6. Jacob Monson (PER).

152-- 1. Kacee Skoog (NYM) def. Mike Johnson (UNC), 10-8.

3. Brady Sazama (PER).

160-- 1. Joe Carpenter (MHD) def. Patrick Glynn (PER), TH, 16-0 (4:00).

3. Gunner Flynn (NYM)

170-- 1. William Parks (PER) def. Sam Grove (MHD), 7-1.

6. Sam Erckenbrack (NYM)

182-- 1. Collin Huckbody (WAHN) def. AJ Wheeler (MHD), 8-5;

3. Noah Pesola (NYM).

195-- 1. Chase Morlock (MHD) def. Christopher Zimmer (WHAN), Inj. Def.; 3. Tyler Patron (NYM)

6. Jesse Klatt (PER).

220-- 1. Taylor Carlson (UNC) def. Cody Nylander (PER), 7-3.

5. Cole Grabow (NYM)

285-- 1. Max Carlson (NYM) def. Kieren Oksanen (ROS), 4-3 (OT);

7. Jesse Bucholz (PER).

Robert Williams

Sports Editor at the Detroit Lakes Tribune. Williams worked prior as the Sports Editor in Perham for the Focus, a Forum Communications newspaper, from 2010-14. 

(218) 844-1442