Weather Forecast


Perham's John McEachran to receive Butch Nash Award

John McEachran is one of eight coaches to be awarded the Butch Nash Award as one of the top assistant coaches in Minnesota. Photo by Kim Jordahl/Special to the Focus

John McEachran of Perham will be honored at the Minnesota Football Coaches Association (MFCA) 49th Annual Football Hall of Fame Banquet on Saturday, April 6.

McEachern will receive the Butch Nash Outstanding Assistant Coach Award.

The Butch Nash award is given by the MFCA to the top assistant coaches in the state.

According to Perham head football coach Mike Jordahl, only eight of these awards are given out each year with hundreds of assistant coaches on staffs throughout the state.

This year's other recipients include: Dave Larson of Hutchinson, Paul Ruud of Glencoe-Silver Lake, Roger Lindahl of Benson, Marc Achterkirch of Owatonna, Daren Sagedahl of BOLD and John Jensen of Rochester Lourdes and Mark Elmer of Stillwarter.

McEachran will also be receiving a 40 years of service award at the banquet.

"The way he looks and the way he coaches, he may be ready for another 40 years of coaching," Jordahl said.

The April event will also showcase the Conference, Section, Class and State Coaches of the Year, along with the Assistant Coach of the Year award and Hall of Fame inductions.

This year's Hall of Fame class is comprised of Ogilvie's Gene Stritesky, Sillwater's Jerry Foley, Deer River's Steve Ott, Kasson-Mandorville's Ivan Kroulik, Cambridge's Jerry Carlson and Don Seipkes of Ottertail Central.

Dave Giles, the MFCA Historian, will also be recongnized with the 2013 Distinguished Service Award.

The banquet will be held at the Doubletree Hotel in Minneapolis, Saturday, April 6, at 6 p.m.

Robert Williams

Sports Editor at the Detroit Lakes Tribune. Williams worked prior as the Sports Editor in Perham for the Focus, a Forum Communications newspaper, from 2010-14. 

(218) 844-1442