Weather Forecast


Speicher 11th in mile at NSIC Indoors

Brady Speicher (373), center, elbows his way into position at the start of the mile. Photo courtesy NSIC/Facebook.

BEMIDJI — MSUM freshman Brady Speicher, of Perham, finished 11th in the mile at the NSIC Track and Field Indoor championships Friday afternoon at Bemidji State University.

Speicher finished in a time of 4:39.81 making the final despite in the middle of rehabilitating a knee injury.

"It was a great experience to make finals and compete with the best in the NSIC, especially, since I wasn't suppose to make finals," Speicher said. "It stinks that in the biggest race of the year my knee injury that's been a problem all season acted up and caused a poor performance. I'm happy with my improvement throughout the year and am looking forward to the future where I will be a bigger contenter."

Cole Toepfer ran a blistering 4:15.66.

Speicher ran a time of 4:27.09 Friday for seventh place in the preliminaries finishing fractions of a second faster than teammate Spencer Ruebke (4:27.16) in eighth place to qualify.

Toepfer of UM-Duluth put up the fastest time in the prelims of 4:25:43.

2014 NSIC Track and Field Indoor Championship, Bemidji State University

1 Cole Toepfer Minnesota-Duluth 4:15.66        
2 Harald Karbo Augustana (S.D.) 4:15.80         
3 Henrik Hansson Augustana (S.D.) 4:20.17         
4 John Klecker Augustana (S.D.) 4:20.69         
5 Chris Jessop U-Mary 4:20.75         
6 Jason Coffin Minnesota-Duluth 4:22.52         
7 Joey Erickson Minnesota-Duluth 4:24.28         
8 Tyler Stevens Minnesota-Duluth 4:25.14         
9 William Brockmuell Sioux Falls 4:26.96                    
10 Jayce Seelig Northern State 4:29.99                    
11 Brady Speicher Msu-Moorhead 4:39.81                    
-- Spencer Ruebke Msu-Moorhead DNF

Men’s Mile - Preliminaries  

Place, Name, School, Time, Heat                                                          
1 Cole Toepfer Minnesota-Duluth 4:25.43Q1
2 Harald Karbo Augustana (S.D.) 4:27.46Q2
3 Henrik Hansson Augustana (S.D.) 4:26.64Q1
4 John Klecker Augustana (S.D.) 4:27.51Q2
5 William Brockmueller Sioux Falls 4:26.79q1
6 Jason Coffin Minnesota-Duluth 4:26.82q1
7 Brady Speicher Msu-Moorhead 4:27.09q1
8 Spencer Ruebke Msu-Moorhead 4:27.16q1
9 Jayce Seelig Northern State 4:27.73q2
10 Tyler Stevens Minnesota-Duluth 4:27.85q2
11 Chris Jessop U-Mary 4:27.96q2
12 Joey Erickson Minnesota-Duluth 4:28.23q2
13 Jamison Gehrig Msu-Moorhead 4:30.141
14 Clay Armstrong Minot State 4:36.531
15 Josh Smith Concordia-St. Paul 4:43.632

Robert Williams

Sports Editor at the Detroit Lakes Tribune. Williams worked prior as the Sports Editor in Perham for the Focus, a Forum Communications newspaper, from 2010-14. 

(218) 844-1442