Weather Forecast


Four Jackets named all-conference, Bruggeman MVP

Hunter Salathe, Tyler Glines, Nick Bahls and Sam Muer were all named to the Heart O' Lakes all-conference team. Robert Williams/FOCUS Below: Ryan Bruggeman capped a fantastic career by being named the most valuable player. File photo/FNS

Four Yellowjackets were named to the Heart O' Lakes boys basketball all-conference team. Tyler Glines was named to the first team, along with Barnesville's Michael Strand, Breckenridge's Nate Lorenz, most valuable player Ryan Bruggeman, of Pelican Rapids, and Hawley's Ben Ellefson.

Bruggeman led the conference in scoring (26.7 avg.), assists (8.7/game), steals (3.2/game), and his 8.7 rebounds a game placed him as one of the top five rebounders.  

The following players were recognized for their excellence on the court:

Heart O’Lakes All-conference boys basketball awards:

Most valuable player: Ryan Bruggeman, Pelican Rapids.

First team: Tyler Glines, Perham; Michael Strand, Barnesville; Nate Lorenz, Breckenridge; Ryan Bruggeman, Pelican Rapids; Ben Ellefson, Hawley.

Second team: Hunter Salathe, Perham; Nick Bahls, Perham; Kyler Martz, Barnesville; Ben Sauve, Barnesville; Travis Haugen, PR.

Third team: Jordan Christensen, Breckenridge; Cory Wokasch, Frazee; Nathan Sillerud, PR; Philip Teeples, H; Zack Nelson, Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton.

Honorable mention: Sam Muer, Perham; Ethan Ishaug, Barnesville; Brady Bellefeuille, F; Dalton Leaf, H; Mason Bjerke, DGF.

Robert Williams

Sports Editor at the Detroit Lakes Tribune. Williams worked prior as the Sports Editor in Perham for the Focus, a Forum Communications newspaper, from 2010-14. 

(218) 844-1442