Senate District 8 Republicans held their endorsing convention at the Henning Community Center on Saturday.

Bud Nornes, Fergus Falls, was unanimously endorsed on the first ballot for House District 8A. Nornes is the district’s current representative in the House.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

The endorsement process for House District 8B went deep into the late afternoon hours and required seven ballots before State Representative Mary Franson, Alexandria, narrowly defeated challenger Sue Nelson, rural Perham. Franson gained the necessary 60-percent majority by one vote.

Owen Miller, Alexandria, was elected the new chair of Senate District 8.

The Minnesota state primary election will be held Aug. 12. The general election will be Nov. 4.