County news: Wetland easements approved

FERGUS FALLS -- Otter Tail County commissioners, on Feb. 6, announced the approval of two wetland easements and two habitat easements. This applies to property in Dead Lake and Friberg townships.

The request came from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Specialist Blair Mace of Fish and Wildlife made the request to county board members on Jan. 28.

Documentation was previously submitted regarding the request. A motion by Commissioner John Lindquist of Dalton and seconded by Commissioner Betty Murphy of Maine Township was unanimously approved.

Conservation easements preserve land for future generations by restricting subdivisions and preserving agricultural lands, forest lands and water quality.

Commissioners give OK to watershed plan

County board members, on Jan. 28, recommended to the Pomme de Terre River Association Joint Powers Board that the Pomme de Terre River Comprehensive Watershed Management Plan be submitted to the Board of Water and Soil Resources for approval.


The plan encompasses the priorities of Otter Tail County within the watershed. The county says it is committed to following through with the goals and objectives that are listed within the plan.

This watershed includes the Dalton area south central Otter Tail County and sections of Grant, Douglas, Big Stone, Stevens and Swift counties.

County approves adding health educator job

County commissioners approve a 1.0 full-time equivalent health educator position in the Public Health Department.

The Parternship4Health (P4H) Community Health Board received a grant to fully fund the position to address dental access for those on Minnesota health care programs throughout the P4H region. The grant will be reviewed for renewal annually.

P4H is a collaboration of community and public health partners in Otter Tail, Becker, Clay and Wilkin counties.

Parternship4Health is at work with schools, worksites, communities, child care centers and human services organizations.

What To Read Next
Get Local