Weather Forecast


Perham student places eighth at Class A State Speech meet

Perham High School Speech team members Grace Kalina, left, Annika Kovar and Olivia McNair competed in the Class A State Speech tournament last weekend in Apple Valley. McNair placed eighth in the Creative Expression category. Submitted Photo1 / 2
The 2017 Yellowjacket Speech Team. Three of its members went on to compete in the Class A State Speech Tournament in Apple Valley April 21 and 22. Submitted photo2 / 2

Olivia McNair, a member of the Perham Yellowjacket speech team, placed eighth in the state Class A speech meet.

Perham was among the 57 schools represented and 95 Class A teams represented at the tournament, conducted at Apple Valley School on Saturday, April 22. There were 185 Class A teams that competed in speech statewide this year. Medals were awarded to as many as eight top finishers in each category.

Maple River of Mapleton and St. Cloud Cathedral led all schools with two gold medals apiece. Cannon Falls captured its second consecutive team championship with its six medalists and 30 points.

None of the six returning gold medalists, who were all returning in their same categories, succeeded in winning an event again this year.

Cannon Falls and St. Cloud Cathedral led all schools with two gold medals and 11 schools followed with one apiece. The 2017 champions are: Tom Hawkins of St. Cloud Cathedral in Creative Expression; Carter Peterson of Underwood in Discussion; Lee Schauer and Isaiah Lippert of Maple River in Duo Interpretation; Brianna Kreft of West Central Area of Barrett in Extemporaneous Reading; Pranay Somayajula of Mounds Park Academy of St. Paul in Extemporaneous Speaking; Maggie Schmaltz of Eden Valley-Watkins in Great Speeches; Kate Folkman of Morris Area in Humorous Interpretation; Stephanie Otremba of St. Cloud Cathedral in Informative Speaking; Ellie Hansen of Walker-Hackensack-Akeley in Original Oratory; Michaila Hicks of Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton in Serious Interpretation of Drama; Moriah Lippert of Maple River in Serious Interpretation of Poetry; Christian Lohrenz of Windom Area in Serious Interpretation of Prose; and Molly Tengwall of Belgrade-Brooten-Elrosa in Storytelling.

Among the 2017 champions, was another Otter Tail County student, Carter Peterson of Underwood in the Discussion category.

Walker-Hackensack-Akeley still tops the Class A list with 41 state champions between 1969 and 2017, which is good for third-place on the list of Most State Champions-All Classes. Mounds Park Academy now has 35 state champions, which is good for fifth-place on that list. Walker-Hackensack-Akeley still tops the list of top medal-winning Class A schools with 238, and Mounds Park Academy has 157. Mankato Loyola had four medalists this year and the school now ranks third with 124.