Seven Perham High School students have been named among the 117 speech competitors from 38 schools chosen for the 2020 Minnesota Speech Coaches Association All-State Speech Team.

The Perham students who made the 2020 All-State Speech Team include:

  • Andrew Jacobson
  • Ethan Siira
  • Grace Kalina
  • Jack Anderson
  • Olivia McNair
  • Titus Mycke
  • Brooke Germain

To qualify for all-state recognition, speakers must achieve a series of milestones established by the association, according to a news release. Those qualifications include being a senior in high school, documented excellence in competition, including competing on subsection/section teams and at least one appearance at the MSHSL State Speech Tournament and using their speech skills in at least three other activities, such as National Honor Society, dramatics or athletics. Community engagement is also part of the qualifying criteria.

The all-state students will receive their awards in the mail due to the COVID-19 pandemic.