Arvig has awarded 36 area high school class of 2020 seniors the Royal B. and Eleanor M. Arvig Memorial Scholarship.

Royale and Eleanor Arvig began offering telephone service to the Perham area in 1950. The Royale B. and Eleanor M. Arvig Memorial Scholarship Fund was established to encourage civic leadership and emphasize the importance of higher education for young people in rural Minnesota so they can continue to maintain strong, vibrant communities and lead our growing rural economy into an exciting and prosperous future.

Each $3,000 scholarship was awarded bases on achievements or interest in the fields of mathematics, engineering, accounting, computer science, telecommunications, or any physical sciences. The 36 recipients are:

  • John Baldus (Grand Meadow High School), Pre-Engineering
  • Sasha Barrett (White Earth School), To be decided
  • Riley Berg, (Pelican Rapids High School), Business Management
  • Owen Bjerga (Staples-Motley High School), Engineering
  • Azara Boschee (Sauk Centre High School), Science/Meteorology
  • Nicholas Canfield, (Park Rapids High School), Computer Science
  • Mattison Grant (Frazee-Vergas High School), Forensics
  • Carter Grove (Osakis High School), Computer Science
  • Katherine Hawton (Redwood Falls High School), Pharmacist
  • Benjamin Heinle (Bigfork High School), Business Administration
  • Hayden Hogenson (Hawley High School), Bioengineering
  • Halie Johnson (Battle Lake High School), Finance
  • Madalyn Kraemer, (Melrose High School), Math
  • Dean Kron, (ROCORI High School), Engineering
  • Simon Liam (Long Prairie/Grey Eagle), Social Science
  • MacKenzie Carsten (Wadena-Deer Creek High School), Math
  • Ryan Murphy (Perham High School), Architecture
  • Andre Nelson, (Ada-Borup High School), Information Technology
  • Gigi Ni (Detroit Lakes High School), Health Medicine
  • Noah Paul (Waubun High School), Engineering
  • Kay Pederson (Lake Park-Audubon High School), Accounting
  • Brianna Raddatz (Walker High School), Biology
  • Grace Rames (Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton), Aerospace Engineering
  • Megan Regostad (Parkers Prairie High School), Science
  • Riley Resnick (Norman County East), Engineering
  • Miguel Reyes (Cass Lake-Bena High School), Management
  • Ethan Severson (Henning High School), Computer Engineering
  • Jesse Shepherd (Eden Valley-Watkins), Management
  • Kael Snetsinger (Mahnomen High School), Engineering
  • Brenna Thompson (New York Mills High School), Accounting
  • Brianna Thompson (Ulen-Hitterdal), Dental Hygienist
  • Zachary Thooft-Decann (Wabasso High School), Engineering
  • Megan Trebesch (Cedar Mountain High School), Environmental Science
  • Kaija Weishalla (Bertha-Hewitt), Math Engineering
  • Tim Wittrock (Kimball High School), Meteorology
  • Sierra Wroolie (Nevis High School), Architecture
WDAY logo
listen live
watch live