The Perham Speech team competed at the Osakis-Parkers Prairie tournament virtually on Saturday, March 20, and placed third amongst 12 teams.

The meet consisted of three preliminary rounds. The top six in each event received medals. Blue ribbons = superior performance (seventh-ninth place in the event). Red ribbons = excellent performance (10th-11th place in the event).

The following individuals received awards at the tournament:

Creative Expression

Lily Aakre - third

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts


Jaxon Bain - fifth

Isaac Paurus - sixth

Reid Starzl - blue ribbon

Angelina Nicholas - red ribbon


Lily Aakre - fourth

Andrea Guajardo - fifth

Abby Fisette - sixth


Beau Johnson & Kira Johnson - second

Emily Kirchenwitz & Sadie Shippee - third

Extemporaneous Reading

Lauren Schreader - fourth


Beau Johnson - first

Daphne Hanson - third

Clodarl Seeman - red ribbon


Crisavy Seeman - second

Anya Roe - fourth

Original Oratory

Aspen Thiel - second

Angelina Nicholas - sixth


Lauren Schreader - red ribbon


Josh Kalina - blue ribbon

The first weekend of April, the team will be competing at their last regular season meet before subsections. The MSHSL subsection competition will be hosted by Underwood on April 9. Qualifying speakers, the top six in each of the 13 events, will speak April 17 in the MSHSL section competition. Those who make the top three in their event at sections will advance to the MSHSL state tournament on April 24.