Five students were recently selected to be Mike Rohde Spirit Scholarship winners. They were presented with plaques and a scholarship of $1,500 at a recent Fergus Falls Sertoma Club meeting at Mabel Murphy’s in Fergus Falls.

The winners are as follows:

  • Cailey Schlosser from Ashby Public School
  • Zekiel Ihrke from Hillcrest Lutheran Academy
  • Grant McMartin from Perham High School
  • Odena Foote from Pelican Rapids High School
  • Cody Carlson from Kennedy Secondary School Fergus Falls

The scholarships are to assist them with further education in their chosen fields.

Mike Rohde died of a hereditary heart disease in 2000. 42 scholarships totaling $59,500 have been awarded in his memory since. This has been made possible by the donations of more than 150 people, The Fergus Falls Sertoma Cub, The Mike Rohde Spirit Scholarship Board and the Rohde family.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

The Mike Rohde Spirit Scholarship Board members are Dianne Rohde-Szarke, Mickey Rohde, Mike Beyer, Wally Stommes, Steve Swanson, Paul Tysver, Scott DeMartelaere and Denise DeMartelaere.