Weather Forecast


Perham City council reorganizes

Perham City Council members underwent their annual reorganization Jan. 8 at its regular meeting. Council members will serve on the following committees: Administration/Finance committee: James Johnson and Timothy Meehl; Public works/safety committee: Fred Lehmkuhl and Eric Spencer; Liquor store committee: Brad Schmidt; PACC: James Johnson; Emergency management/fire/rescue: Timothy Meehl, Fred Lehmkuhl and Brad Schmidt.

In the absence of the mayor, the vice mayor for the Perham City Council was named as James Johnson.

The city council also took the following action:

• Approved an equity report, which indicates how equal pay ranges are for men and women working for the city. The completed report showed the city is compliant.

• Approved dates for the Perham Chamber of Commerce to use various streets and parks in the coming months for events including sidewalk sales, turtle races, Turtle Fest and more.

• Renewed the taproom on-sale/brewer off-sale/Sunday licenses for Disgruntled Brewing which expire Jan. 31, 2018 contingent upon all fees and legal requirements being met as required by the City and State of Minnesota's Liquor Control Board. The license fee is $900.

• Accepted the Perham Lakeside Golf Club income statement showing a net income of $126,100.25 from January-November 2017 compared to $48,847.90 in the same period in 2016.

• Accepted the city's financial reports.

• Approved contracts designating Graco Services LLC, Ben Riewer as Building Official and Steven Schroeder as Building Official - Commercial/Industrial.

• Approved the library board appointments of Dan Buchin (2018, 2019, 2020) - second term; Lowell Vomhof (2018, 2019, 2020) - third term; and Caitlin Dierkhising (2018, 2019, 2020) - first term, replacing Mary Schmidt whose term ended in 2017.

• Approved a reorganization resolution including: set regular meetings for the second Monday of the month at 5:15 p.m. and the Committee of the Whole meeting was set for the last Wednesday of the month at 5:15 p.m., all meetings at the council chambers of city hall unless otherwise noted; the official newspaper was named as the Perham Focus and Perham Contact located in Perham.