School districts throughout Minnesota are receiving a combined $30 million from the state to fund safety initiatives, according to a news release from state Rep. Bud Nornes, R-Fergus Falls.

In Otter Tail County the Perham-Dent ($50,933), Pelican Rapids ($30,110) and Fergus Falls ($100,483) school districts, among others, will be receiving funds.

The supplemental aid must be used for expenditures as authorized under the Safe Schools Levy, according to the release. This includes a wide variety of facility and programming purposes such as police liaison services, counseling, school security, gang resistance education training and other crime prevention and safety measures for students and staff.

The money comes from a one-time Safe Schools Supplemental Aid appropriation in the state’s new education budget, according to the release. The $30 million will be provided to school districts and charter schools on a per-pupil basis.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live