Vance Bachmann, supervisor from Corliss Township in Otter Tail County, was elected as the new District 9 director of the Minnesota Association of Townships Wednesday, Dec. 18, at a special meeting of township officers from Becker, Clay, Douglas, Otter Tail and Wilkin counties.

The meeting, at Sverdrup Township Town Hall in Otter Tail County, was to elect a new director following the recent death of Jim Adamietz of Girard Township in Otter Tail County, according to a news release. Adamietz was was elected to the position this fall.

There are 171 townships in District 9. The Minnesota Association of Townships is guided by a 13-member Board of Directors representing 13 state districts. Each director serves a three-year term.

“Townships are unique because they are ‘grassroots government’ and I’m proud and honored to serve my township and my district with the Minnesota Association of Townships,” Bachmann said in the release.

There are approximately 914,174 township residents in 1,781 townships in Minnesota, according to the release.