The Otter Tail County Board of Commissioners has approved the addition of one full time deputy position and one full time corrections officer position in the sheriff’s department.

The request is a result of restructuring within the department due to an upcoming retirement. This was outlined by County Sheriff Barry Fitzgibbons to the county board on Sept. 1. The request had previously met approval from the County Finance Committee.

The motion to approve the new hires, at the recommendation of Fitzgibbons, came from County Commissioner Doug Huebsch of Perham, seconded by Commissioner Betty Murphy of Maine Township.

The motion passed unanimously. Joining Huebsch and Murphy in voting yes were commissioners Wayne Johnson of Pelican Rapids, John Lindquist of Dalton and Lee Rogness of Fergus Falls.

Absentee ballot board appointments

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live
Newsletter signup for email alerts

County commissioners, on Sept. 1, appointed eight individuals to the Otter Tail County Absentee Ballot Board for the processing of absentee ballots issued and received under the provisions of Minnesota statutes.

The appointees include Patricia Tell, Jean Kathy Anderson, Joyce Albjerg, Desta Hunt, Virginia Portmann, Ron Burt, Joleen Lentz and Renae Legge.

The aforementioned approvals apply to this year’s state general election.