Student news: Area students receive academic honors

Several lakes-area students received academic honors for their spring 2022 semesters at college.

Book Study.jpg
Local students were recently honored by their universities.
Perham Focus file photo
We are part of The Trust Project.

PERHAM — The following Perham area students were honored by their respective universities.

Winona State University

Winona State University announced the dean's list for its 2022 spring semester. Casey Volkmann, of Deer Creek, made the list. To be named to the list, a student must be an undergraduate enrolled full-time — at least 12 credit hours for a grade — and achieve a minimum GPA of 3.5.

Minnesota State Community and Technical College

Students on the president's list earned a grade point average of 4.0 while completing a minimum of six college-level credits. Students on the dean's list earned a 3.50-3.99 while completing a minimum of six college-level credits.


  • Sydney Anderson, president's list
  • Taylor Gaarsland, dean's list
  • Alexisia Miller, president's list
  • Caleb Orvik, president's list
  • Joseph Reed, president's list
  • Alex Stoll, dean's list

New York Mills


  • Kimberly Gonzalez, president's list


  • Vivian Homola, president's list
  • Beth Lorentz, president's list
  • Grace Mindermann, president's list
  • Teylor Mireles, president's list
  • Coltan Myers, dean's list
  • Abby Obright, dean's list
  • Samantha Pary, president's list


  • Ryann Anderson, dean's list
  • Amanda Carstens, president's list
  • Vanessa Craft, dean's list
  • Kyrsten Demers, president's list
  • Barbara Felt, dean's list
  • Brynn Greisen, president's list
  • Gavin Grismer, dean's list
  • Alyssa Hartmann, dean's list
  • Greta Hillukka, president's list
  • Hannah Hunter, president's list
  • Madilyn Johnson, president's list
  • Shanaya Johnson, dean's list
  • Bryan Kimber, president's list
  • Hannah Kinn, dean's list
  • Alexis Kunza, president's list
  • Isaiah Laudenbach, president's list
  • Gage Lippman, president's list
  • Jakob Mccleary, dean's list
  • Stephanie Meissner, president's list
  • Carrie Poole, president's list
  • Shanetta Reitmeyer, dean's list
  • Kordia Rindahl, president's list
  • Hannah Slevin, president's list
  • Elizabeth Smith, president's list
  • Rian Solberg, president's list
  • Mattea Steeke, president's list
  • Reese Willprecht, president's list
  • Denise Winjum, president's list


  • Stephanie Dickerson, president's list
  • Emily Kirchenwitz, dean's list


  • Madison Foster, president's list


  • Victoria Dietrich, dean's list
What To Read Next
The Detroit Lakes City Council acted in part to meet a Jan. 31 deadline and keep its options open, and local voters must approve the new tax.
The menu is subject to change.
The administration is bringing back an Obama-era decision, later reversed by Trump, that bans new mineral leases on 225,500 acres of the Superior National Forest for the next two decades.
"The project is ill conceived, unjustified, goes totally against the will of the community and is doing significant damage,” Willis Mattison said in an interview.