ADVERTISEMENT

ADVERTISEMENT

New Minnesota car insurance laws begin Jan. 1

ST. PAUL -- If you're all revved up to buy or sell a car, or even just renewing the license tabs on old reliable, be ready to have your insurance information handy.

ST. PAUL -- If you're all revved up to buy or sell a car, or even just renewing the license tabs on old reliable, be ready to have your insurance information handy.

Starting Jan. 1, Minnesotans who are registering, renewing license tabs or transferring ownership of motor vehicles and motorcycles must provide insurance information to do so.

It used to be that you could simply declare that the vehicle was covered by an insurance policy, without actually having the policy information on hand.

Minnesota lawmakers changed the law to cut down on the number of people driving without insurance.

It was one of the recommendations of the Motor Vehicle Insurance Task Force, which was established by the 2014 Legislature.

ADVERTISEMENT

According to the task force, 10.8 percent of Minnesotans drive without insurance.

State law also requires drivers to possess proof of insurance whenever a motor vehicle is being operated or when its use is contemplated.

What To Read Next
Fundraising is underway to move the giant ball of twine from the Highland, Wisconsin, home of creator James Frank Kotera, who died last month at age 75, 44 years after starting the big ball.
Mike Clemens, a farmer from Wimbledon, North Dakota, was literally (and figuratively) “blown away,” when his equipment shed collapsed under a snow load.