Perham Focus earns awards at state newspaper contest

The Perham Focus took home eight awards, including three first-place awards, Thursday, Jan. 30, at the Minnesota Newspaper Association’s Convention in Brooklyn Park.

The awards in news and advertising are part of the Better Newspaper Contest, and were judged by the Hoosier State Press Association.

Former Editor Paula Quam earned first place in the Lynn Smith Community Leadership award (all newspapers) for the Focus series “Bricks and Clicks.” Carter Jones took third place for the Dave Pyle New Journalist Award (all non-dailies).

The Focus competes in the non-dailies, 1,501-3,000 circulation division, unless otherwise noted:

First place

  • Lynn Smith Community Leadership: “Bricks and Clicks,” Paula Quam (all newspapers)

  • Business Story: “Now Hiring: Perham has more jobs than people,” Marie Johnson

  • Sports Story: “Perfection,” Jason Groth

Second place

  • Social Issues Story: “Let’s Talk,” Carter Jones
  • Portrait and Personality Photo: “Luminous: Abby Wallin,” Marie Johnson
  • Use of Photography as a Whole: Perham Focus

Third place

  • Dave Pyle New Journalist Award: Carter Jones (all non-dailies)

  • General Reporting: Perham Focus

A sister newspaper of the Focus, the Detroit Lakes Tribune, won 16 awards, including four first-place awards, in the non-dailies, 3,001-7,000 circulation division.

What To Read Next
Get Local