What to know about the March 3 presidential primary

Election 2020 logo

Voting in the Presidential Primary will take place on Tuesday, March 3.

This year will be the first general election cycle in which Minnesotans will select their preferred presidential nominee via primary rather than a caucus, thanks to a bill signed by former-Gov. Mark Dayton in May 2016. Lawmakers decided to make the switch after hearing complaints of overcrowding and long lines at caucuses.

Those who are registered to vote need only go to their polling place between 7 a.m. and 8 p.m. Tuesday, March 3. Those who are not registered to vote, but wish to do so may still register to vote at their polling place on Election Day.

Who is on the ballot?

On March 3, voters will select either a Democratic or Republican ballot to make their selection for presidential nominees.

On the Democratic ballot will be:


  • Michael Bennet*
  • Joseph Biden
  • Michael R. Bloomberg
  • Cory Booker*
  • Pete Buttigieg
  • Julian Castro*
  • John K. Delaney*
  • Tulsi Gabbard
  • Amy Klobuchar
  • Deval Patrick*
  • Bernie Sanders
  • Tom Steyer
  • Elizabeth Warren
  • Marianne Williamson*
  • Andrew Yang*
  • Uncommitted

Only Biden, Bloomberg, Buttigieg, Gabbard, Klobuchar, Sanders, Steyer and Warren are active candidates for the Democratic nomination. The others -- marked above with an asterisk -- have dropped out or suspended their campaigns.
Republicans will have just one name on their ballot: Donald J. Trump, the incumbent. Voters can also write-in a candidate.

Where do I vote?

There are several polling places around the Perham and northern Otter Tail County. To find your polling place, visit and type in your address.

Here is a list of area polling places:

  • Perham: Perham City Hall
  • Perham Township: Perham Community Center
  • Dent: Dent Community Center
  • Richville: Richville City-Rush Lake Township Hall
  • Ottertail: Ottertail Community Hall
  • Otter Tail Township: Otter Tail Otter Tail Township Hall, County Highway 55
  • Newton Township: Newton Township-New York Mills City Hall
  • New York Mills: New York Mills City Hall
  • Vergas: Vergas City Event Center
  • Rush Lake Township: Rush lake Township Hall, County Highway 14

What else?

More information about voting and Minnesota elections can be found online at and .

What To Read Next
Get Local