Weather Forecast


Richville wins third straight league title

The Richville Rockets completed a three-peat of the Little League Championship Saturday. First Row L-R: Jacob McAllister, Andrew Smith, Blake Lorentz, Aiden Kennedy, Rory Lindquist, Evan Kovash, Owen Werner, Aaron Lorentz. Second Row: Carter Mulcahy, Rowdy Lindquist, Ryan Murphy, Devin Meyer, Maddux Kovash, D.J. Lysne, Jack Fudge, Noah Rooney. Not Pictured: Josh Peterson. Submitted photo.

PERHAM — The Richville Rockets won a third consecutive Little League title defeating Sebeka 2-0 in the Championship game Saturday at Arvig Park.

A two-run first inning double by Devin Meyer was all Rockets’ pitcher Maddux Kovash would need as he went all five innings striking out nine on his way to the shutout victory. Meyer also picked up a walk-off game winning RBI single in the semifinal as Richville defeated Wadena 4-3.

For the tournament, the Rockets were paced by Noah Rooney who batted .600. Kovash and Meyer HIT .444 and Carter Mulcahy put up a .400 average.

Kovash picked up two pitching victories on the mound while Rooney and Mulcahy added one each. For the season, the Rockets were 18-2 losing two games in the Battle of Omaha but going unbeaten in league play.

For the season, Kovash batted .620, Rooney .528 and Mulcahy .500.

Robert Williams

Sports Editor at the Detroit Lakes Tribune. Williams worked prior as the Sports Editor in Perham for the Focus, a Forum Communications newspaper, from 2010-14. 

(218) 844-1442