Weather Forecast


O'Hara, Yellowjackets take home title at MSU-M

The Perham boys cross country running team earned top honors and celebrates its win at the MSU-M Twilight Invitational. Photo courtesy of the Perham XC Twitter.

The top-ranked Perham boys cross country team enjoyed running in the evening hours as they captured top honors at the annual Minnesota State University-Moorhead Dragon Twilight event on Sept. 7 in Moorhead.

Brandon O’Hara earned top honors for the Yellowjackets. It was the second win of the season for the state-ranked junior runner. O’Hara climbed up to seventh overall in Class A with his strong start to the season. He finished first at the Spartan Duals earlier this year and had a strong showing at the St. Olaf Showcase when he came in 14th place overall. At Moorhead, O’Hara posted a season best time of 16 minutes and 2.2 seconds for first place. He won the race by 2.1 seconds, ahead of Moorhead’s Zach Johnson.

O’Hara’s teammate, Clayton Anderson, came in third place. Anderson finished with a time of 16:12.5, which was his best time of the season as well. The Yellowjackets had four runners inside the top 10, showcasing their depth and their pack running, which makes it tough to surpass the top-ranked Yellowjackets.

Perham finished with 33 points, while Moorhead was second with 45 points. Bemidji finished third with 70 points, while West Central Area came in fourth at 75 points. Fargo Davies was fifth, while Bagley/Fosston rounded out the field in sixth place.

Moorhead’s Dawson Storm was fourth at 16:13.8, while West Central Area’s Jacob Bright came in fifth at 16:28.4.

Bailey Evenson and Jakob McCleary were right on each other’s heels during the race. Evenson finished with a time of 16:33.1 for sixth, while McCleary came in seventh at 16:35.0. Chase Belka finished in 16th place, while Owen Werner was 26th and Gunnar Anderson came in 32nd, rounding out the field for the Yellowjackets.

The Yellowjackets return to the course on Thursday, Sept. 13 when they compete in Little Falls at 4 p.m.

MSUM Dragon Twilight

Team Scores

Perham 33, Moorhead 45, Bemidji 70, West Central Area 75, Fargo Davies 116, Bagley/Fosston 179

Individual Top 10

1 Brandon O’Hara, PER, 16:02.2; 2 Zach Johnson, MH, 16:04.3; 3 Clayton Anderson, PER, 16:12.5; 4 Dawson Storm, MH, 16:13.8; 5 Jacob Bright, WCA, 16:28.4; 6 Bailey Evenson, PER, 16:33.1; 7 Jakob McCleary, PER, 16:35.0; 8 Riley Berg, BEM, 16:35.0; 9 Jacob Kunka, MH, 16:36.0; 10 Gage Mostad, BEM, 16:38.5.

Perham Individual Results

1 Brandon O’Hara, 16:02.2; 3 Clayton Anderson, 16:12.5; 6 Bailey Evenson, 16:33.1; 7 Jakob McCleary 16:35.0; 16 Chase Belka, 17:04.1; 26 Owen Werner, 17:39.7; 32 Gunnar Anderson 18;14.9.

Jason Groth

 Groth is a Minnesota Newspaper Association award-winning Sports Editor of the Perham Focus and the Wadena Pioneer Journal. Groth worked in Grand Rapids as the Sports Director at KOZY/KMFY radio for two years and prior to that he was the Sports Editor/Writer for the Grand Rapids Herald-Review for seven years. 

(218) 346-5900 x223