Weather Forecast


Close finish at the top for Perham boys cross country

Perham's Brandon O'Hara, Clayton Anderson and Bailey Evenson run out at the front of the pack at the Lucky Lindy Invitational. Photos courtesy of Kristen McMartin Photography.

It was a hotly-contested race with the Moorhead Spuds gaining a slight measure of revenge on the Perham Yellowjackets. The top-ranked team in Class A finished third to Moorhead by a mere four points at the Lucky Lindy Invitational in Little Falls on Sept. 13.

The Yellowjackets defeated Moorhead during the Minnesota State University-Moorhead Dragon Twilight Invitational, but this time the Spuds earned the narrow victory. Hopkins was second with 64 points, while Perham was third with 66 points. The Yellowjackets were the top finishing Class A school in the event and were one of the only two in the top 10. Greenway/Nashwauk-Keewatin finished seventh with 244 points and are potentially a team Perham might see at the Class A Championships.

Jakob McCleary

The Yellowjackets had three runners inside the top 10 with Brandon O’Hara leading the way. He was seventh at 16:30.7, while Clayton Anderson was eighth at 16:32.0, followed by Bailey Evenson with the same time of 16:32.0. Hopkins Eli Hoeft won the event with a time of 15:43.8. GNK’s Geno Uhrbom came in second place at 16:02.5, while Moorhead’s Zach Johnson was third at 16:11.5. Moorhead’s Dawson Strom was fourth at 16:21.1.

Jakob McCleary earned a top 15 finish with a time of 16:48.3 for 13th place. Chase Belka caem in 29th at 17:18.3 as the final point getter for the Yellowjackets. Owen Werner finished in 60th place at 18:05.8, while Gunnar Anderson came in 77th at 18:32.9, rounding out the field for Perham.

The Yellowjackets enjoy an extended break from competition. There next meet will be the Milaca Mega Meet on Sept. 22. The Milaca Mega Meet is annually the largest cross country meet in the nation.

Lucky Lindy Invitational

Boys Team results:

1 Moorhead 62, 2 Hopkins 64, 3 Perham 66, 4 Sartell 102, 5 Bemidji 123, 6 St Cloud Apollo 238, 7 GNK 244, 8 Alexandria 258, 9 Detroit Lakes 278, 10 Monticello 319, 11 St Cloud Cathedral 353, 12 Becker 381, 13 Brainerd 383, 14 Foley 392, 15 Grand Rapids 399, 16 Cromwell-Floodwood 452, 17 Fergus Falls 460, 18 Pequot Lakes 460, 19 Sauk Rapids-Rice 483, 20 Little Falls 512, 21 Rocori 554, 22 St Cloud Tech 555, 23 Milaca 675.

Individual winner: 1 Eli Hoeft, Hopkins 15:43.8.

Top 10 Individual Results

1 Eli Hoeft, HOP, 15:43.8; 2 Geno Uhrbom, GNK, 16:02.5; 3 Zach Johnson, MHD, 16:11.5; 4 Dawson Strom, MHD, 16:21.1; 5 Penn Sagedahl, HOP, 16:28.7; 6 Sam Ringger, SAUK, 16:30.5; 7 Brandon O’Hara, PER, 16:30.7; 8 Clayton Anderson, PER, 16:32.0; 9 Bailey Evenson, PER, 16:32.0; 10 Mohamed Liebon, STC AP, 16:35.8.

Perham Individual Results

7 Brandon O’Hara, 16:30.7; 8 Clayton Anderson, 16:32.0; 9 Bailey Evenson, 16:32.0; 13 Jakob McCleary, 16:48.3; 29 Chase Belka, 17:18.3; 60 Owen Werner, 18:05.8; 77 Gunnar Anderson, 18:32.9.

Jason Groth

 Groth is a Minnesota Newspaper Association award-winning Sports Editor of the Perham Focus and the Wadena Pioneer Journal. Groth worked in Grand Rapids as the Sports Director at KOZY/KMFY radio for two years and prior to that he was the Sports Editor/Writer for the Grand Rapids Herald-Review for seven years. 

(218) 346-5900 x223