The post-season accolades came rolling in for the two-time Section 8AAA championship winning Perham Yellowjacket football team when they hosted their annual end of the season banquet on Dec. 1.

The Yellowjackets finished the 2019 season with an 8-4 record an a berth in to the Class AAA Tournament for the second straight season. The Yellowjackets were led by sophomore quarterback Colton Hackel, who was named the Red Sub-District Quarterback of the Year for his efforts. Hackel finished the 2019 campaign with 1,555 yards passing and 1,191 yards rushing.

In his first season as varsity quarterback, the sophomore completed 99 of his 188 passing attempts with just four interceptions during the season. He was a dual threat quarterback as he rushed for an average of 6.7 yards per carry. He finished with 13 touchdowns as well. Hackel was the only individual Red Sub-District award winner from Perham during the season. The Yellowjackets were 4-3 in the Midwest Red Sub-District and finished in third place. Detroit Lakes went 7-0 to capture the conference crown, while Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton was 6-1 and finished second overall.

Detroit Lakes' Jackson Fields was the Defensive Lineman of the Year, while Pequot Lakes' Bode Magnuson was the Defensive Back of the Year. DGF's Carter Steen was the Linebacker of the year, with Detroit Lakes' Caleb Tangen earning the Offensive Lineman of the Year award. Detroit Lakes' Isaiah Thompson was the Offensive Back of the Year and East Grand Forks' Nathan Willett was the Receiver of the Year. Detroit Lakes' Reed Mace was the Specialist of the Year, while DGF head coach Anthony Soderberg earned Coach of the Year honors. Thompson was named the Player of the Year for the Red Sub-District.

The Yellowjackets had four members named to the Red Sub-District All-District team for the 2019 season. Finn Diggins, Dawson Kellogg, Maddux Kovash and Hackel received those honors for the season.

WDAY logo
listen live
watch live

Noah Rooney, Rowdie Lindquist and Isaac Lung were named Red Sub-District All-District Honorable Mention for their efforts during the 2019 season.

The Yellowjackets were honored for their work in the classroom as well. The Yellowjackets had 18 members make the Midwest District Red All-Academic team. Marcus Belka, Hackel, Kovash, Rooney, Gabriel Thompson, Connor Kostynick, Rian Solberg, Austin Aanenson, Chaz Melvin, Carter Aakre, Andrew Jacobson, Gage Germolus, Ethan Siira, Isaac VanWatermulen, Reese Willprecht, Gareth Covington, Titus Mycke, Gabe Bellefeuille and Josh Peterson received those honors. To achieve All-Academic team status, players must have maintained a grade point average higher than 3.7.