Cross country: Perham cleans up at sections, several area runners qualify for state

The Perham cross country teams handled their business at the Section 8A championships. Here is a look at how area runners did and who will compete at state:

Perham XC sections.jpg
The Perham cross country teams won the Section 8A championships on Oct. 29 and will compete at the Class A state meet on Saturday.
Contributed / Twitter / @perhamcc
We are part of The Trust Project.

BAGLEY – A bevy of area athletes is headed to the state Class A cross country meet next weekend in Northfield.

The Perham boys and girls teams took care of business and brought home section championships in the 8A meet on Thursday. The girls finished with a team score of 26, while the boys claimed first with a score of 42.

Gracie Morris paced the Perham girls with a third-place finish and a time of 19:54.0. Ella Hendrickson (20:07.2) and Quincy Anderson (20:09.8) were right behind Morris in fourth and fifth place.

Mya Morris clocked in at 20:21.0, which was good enough for sixth place. Caidyn Breid continued her breakout season with an eighth-place time of 20:23.9. Leelou Novotny (20:37.5) and Myriah Tharaldson (20:43.5) finished in 12th and 13th place.

Bjorn Anderson took home the individual Section 8A championship in the boys race with a time of 16:18.1. Micah Thompson was 23 seconds behind Anderson in third place with a time of 16:41.5.


Dylan Guck (17:23.3, 11th), Caden Doll (17:23.5, 12th) and Brayden Glorvigen (17:36.6, 15th) all notched top 15 finishes on Thursday. Carter Flatau (18:21.2) and Blake Swenson (18:40.9) rounded out the group.

The top two teams and six individuals on non-qualifying teams advance to the state meet at St. Olaf College on Nov. 5. Hawley finished in second place in the girls race with a score of 89. Park Rapids was the second boys team to qualify with 48 points.

Lake Park-Audubon will send four individuals to state. Ellen Schauer was the final girls runner to qualify with a time of 20:43.6, which was good enough for 14th place overall. Taylor Johnson (16:52.9), Thor Erickson (17:15.8) and Seth Torgerson all finished in the top 10 in the boys race.

Wolverines back at state

For the first time since 1999, the Wadena-Deer Creek girls cross country team will compete at the state meet.

The Wolverines took second place at the Section 6A championships in Staples on Thursday, finishing behind the host school with a score of 83.

WDC XC Sections.jpg
The Wadena-Deer Creek girls cross country team and Bjorn Brusnberg qualified for the state Class A championships at the Section 6A meet in Staples on Oct. 28, 2022.
Contributed / Facebook / Wadena-Deer Creek Public Schools

Britta Sweeney led the EDC girls with a fifth-place finish and a time of 20:04. Amber Collins took 12th with a time of 20:46, while Brielle Kern (21:24) came in 19th.

Lydia Oldakowski (21:30, 20th) and Cambrie Geiger (22:02, 35th) rounded out the scoring runners for the Wolverines. Ally Pavek (22:18, 37th) and Karly Haverkamp (22:51, 46th) also finished.

Bjorn Brunsberg is headed to state for the boys with a time of 17:03. He took sixth place, leading the WDC boys to a fourth-place team finish. This is the second consecutive season Brunsberg will run at state.


Lane Hoefs came in 12th with a time of 17:24. Philip Ross (18:36, 31st), Cooper Damlo (18:59, 39th), Grand Damlo (19:13, 46th), Trevin Kern (19:52, 63rd) and Isaac Heppner (20:14, 77th) all clocked in for the Wolverines.

SECTION 8A GIRLS TEAM SCORES (Top two teams and six individuals not on the top two teams advance to the state meet on Nov. 5 at St. Olaf College)- 1- Perham 26, 2- Hawley 89, 3- Park Rapids 97, 4- United North Central 116, 5- Warroad 148, 6- West Marshall 155, 7- Nevis 192, 8- New York Mills 200, 9- Roseau-Badger 263, 10- Frazee 279, 11- Ada-Borup-West 308, 12- Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 309

PERHAM GIRLS FINISHERS- 3- Gracie Morris 19:54.0, 4- Ella Hendrickson 20:07.2, 5- Quincy Anderson 20:09.8, 6- Mya Morris 20:21.0, 8- Caidyn Breid 20:23.9, 12- Leelou Novotny 20:37.5, 13- Myriah Tharaldson 20:43.5

GIRLS INDIVIDUAL STATE QUALIFIERS- 1- Jade Rypkema (Nevis) 18:07.4, 2- Anjalie Aho (UNC) 19:18.0, 7- Morgan Koppelman (Park Rapids) 20:21.2, 8- Amelia Machlitt (Clearbrook-Gonvick) 20:22.9, 10- Adeline Bjorklund (Nevis) 20:23.9, 14- Ellen Schauer (Lake Park-Audubon) 20:43.5

SECTION 8A BOYS TEAM SCORES (Top two teams and six individuals not on the top two teams advance to the state meet on Nov. 5 at St. Olaf College)- 1- Perham 42, 2- Park Rapids 48, 3- Lake Park-Audubon 104, 4- Hawley 115, 5- Pelican Rapids 159, 6- Dilworth-Glyndon-Felton 166, 7- Warroad 220, 8- Ada-Borup-West 243, 9- Roseau-Badger 244, 10- Nevis 251, 11- Lake of the Woods-Indus-Rainy River 272, 12- Frazee 322, 13- Red Lake County 368, 14- Bagley-Fosston 377, 15- West Marshall 435, 16- New York Mills 439

PERHAM BOYS FINISHERS- 1- Bjorn Anderson 16:18.1, 3- Micah Thompson 16:41.5, 11- Dylan Guck 17:23.3, 12- Caden Doll 17:23.5, 15- Brayden Glorvigen 17:36.6, 30- Carter Flatau 18:21.2, 35- Blake Swenson 18:40.9

BOYS INDIVIDUAL STATE QUALIFIERS- 4- Charlie Larson (Pelican Rapids) 16:46.6, 5- Taylor Johnson (Lake Park-Audubon) 16:52.9, 8- Owen Winter (DGF) 17:07.0, 9- Thor Erickson (Lake Park-Audubon) 17:15.8, 10 Seth Torgerson (Lake Park-Audubon) 17:20.5, 13- Benjamin Geeslin (Hawley) 17:24.9


SECTION 6A GIRLS TEAM SCORES- 1 Staples-Motley 46, 2- Wadena-Deer Creek 83, 3- Minnewaska 91, 4- Breckenridge-Wahpeton 122, 5- OTC 143, 6- Morris Area 189, 7West Central Area 215, 8- Pillager 224, 9- LPGE 258, 10- Bertha-Hewitt 266, 11- Sauk Centre 285, 12- Osakis 287, 13- ABE 338, 14- Benson-KMS 377, 15- Border West 388, 16- New Testament Christian 455

WADENA-DEER CREEK GIRLS TEAM SCORES- 5- Britta Sweeney 20:04, 12- Amber Collins 20:46, 19- Brielle Kern 21:24, 20- Lydia Oldakowski 21:30, 35- Cambrie Geiger 22:02, 37- Ally Pavek 22:18, 46- Karly Haverkamp 22:51

SECTION 6A BOYS TEAM SCORES- 1- Staples-Motley 56, 2- Bertha-Hewitt 62, 3- Sauk Centre 100, 4- Wadena-Deer Creek 134, 5- OTC 139, 6- Minnewaska 161, 7- Osakis 179, 8- West Central Area 196, 9- Morris Area 255, 10- Benson-KMS 302, 11- Breckenridge-Wahpeton 303, 12- Ortonville 307, 13- Border West 348, 14- Parkers Prairie 358, 15- ABE 372, 16- Pillager 419, 17- LPGE 428

WADENA-DEER CREEK BOYS TEAM SCORES- 6- Bjorn Brunsberg (Individual qualifier) 17:03, 12- Lane Hoefs 17:24, 31- Phillip Ross 18:36, 39- Cooper Damlo 18:59, 46- Grant Damlo 19:13, 63- Trevin Kern 19:52, 77- Isaac Heppner 20:14

Jared Rubado is the sports editor for the Detroit Lakes Tribune and the Perham Focus. He moved to the area in September of 2021 after covering sports for the Alexandria Echo Press for nearly three years. Jared graduated from the University of Augustana in 2018 with degrees in journalism and sports managment.
What to read next
The Perham girls basketball team leaned on its aggressive defense and balanced offensive to pull away from Detroit Lakes on Thursday night at Lakeshirts Fieldhouse. The Lakers struggled to knock down shots in a 50-34 loss to open the season in a battle of top-25 teams.
The Perham boys basketball team is looking to hang another banner at The Hive as they hope to repeat as Section 8-2A champions in 2022-23.
The New York Mills girls basketball team is excited to be in the thick of it against a loaded slate of Section 6A and Park Region Conference teams.
The New York Mills boys basketball team looks to reload after one of the best seasons in program history. Following the departure of a huge senior class, new Eagles look to leave their mark on a cornerstone Section 6A program.