Weather Forecast


Moser’s finals run at Rumble on the Red ends in OT

Ty Moser, top, of Perham, Minn., wrestles Bobby Striggow of Orono, Minn., for the 195-pound varsity championship during the Rumble on the Red tournament Friday, Dec. 29, 2017, in the Fargodome. Michael Vosburg / Forum News Service

Ty Moser won't let a loss define his season. In fact, the pain of a loss for the No. 3-ranked wrestler at 195 pounds in Minnesota Class 2A from Perham could be useful.

Moser made a run to the 195-pound championship, but fell to Bobby Striggow of Orono in a 3-1 sudden victory.

"Overtime came and I was gassed, so I've got to work on that a little bit," Moser said with a smile. "It was a hard fought match by him."

After a scoreless first period, Moser scored an escape point in the second period and Striggow scored an escape point in the third. Striggow nearly secured a takedown in the third period's final seconds, but Moser bought just enough time to force overtime.

Striggow remained aggressive and finally got the takedown in the sudden victory.

Moser took his first loss of the season and now has 14-1 record. He said he wants to take more crisp shots and finish matches more cleanly.

"It stings, but in the same breath, it's good to get up here and see some good competition. It's good to even get a loss sometimes," Moser said. "You take some time to reevaluate and take a look at the season with a little different perspective."

Perham tied for third in the team standings with Albert Lea Area at 135.5 points. Willmar took second as a team with 142.5 points as Clay Carlson took the 132-pound championship and Cael Carlson won at 138 pounds. Scott West won the team title with 186.5 points.

Championship matches

106: Kelby Armstrong, Minot, dec. Nick Novak, New Prague, 3-2.

113: Joey Thompson, Maple Grove, maj. dec. Reece Barnhardt, Bismarck St. Mary's, 9-1.

120: Kyle Burwick, Hettinger-Scranton, maj. dec. Hunter Lewis, Stoughton, 10-0.

126: Ryan Ripplinger, Bismarck, dec. Charlie Pickell, Mankato West, 8-4.

132: Clay Carlson, Willmar, tech. fall Tyler Shackle, Scott West, 26-11.

138: Cael Carlson, Willmar, fall Tanner Kroells, Delano, 1:54.

145: Jake Mandt, Chatfield, maj. dec. Moise Madimba, Coon Rapids, 10-0.

152: Tyler Wagener, Waconia, maj. dec. Brody Nielsen, Albert Lea Area, 12-4.

160: Jared Franek, West Fargo, sudden victory Tyler Dow, Stoughton, 5-3.

170: Cole Kirpach, St. Francis, maj. dec. Lincoln Shinn, Willmar, 12-0.

182: Tyler Buesgens, Scott West, fall Dante Colicheski, Rapid City Stevens, 3:14.

195: Bobby Striggow, Orono, sudden victory Ty Moser, Perham, 3-1.

220: Cole Fibranz, Sartell-Saint Stephen, dec. Steven Hajas, Delano, 4-1.

285: Zachary Jakes, Mankato West, fall Mitch Trigg, Foley, 0:35.

Colton Pool

Pool is a reporter for The West Fargo Pioneer covering city sports and community news. He was the sports editor for The Dickinson Press covering Dickinson State athletics, high school athletics and Southwest Speedway. He graduated from North Dakota State with a degree in journalism and a minor in English. You can reach him by phone at 701-451-5715 or tweet him @CPoolReporter. 

(701) 451-5715